Part-Time Faculty | Kent State University

Part-Time Faculty

Christine Andersen, M.L.I.S., M.Ed.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Children's Services, Stow-Munroe Falls Public Library, Stow, Ohio
  • cander34@kent.edu

Fred Baerkircher

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Highland Square Branch Manager, Akron-Summit County Public Library, Akron, Ohio
  • fbaerkir@kent.edu

IOURI BAIRATCHNYI, PH.D.

Cari Baker Dubiel, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Computer Services Manager, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, Ohio
  • cbaker3@kent.edu

Dan Berlin, M.B.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Managing Director, Experience Research at Mad*Pow, Boston, Mass.
  • dberlin2@kent.edu

CHRISTINE L. BONNER, M.L.I.S., PH.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Reference and Instruction Services Coordinator, Ohio Dominican University Library, Columbus, Ohio
  • cbonner@kent.edu

Denise Bonzon, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Strategist, D'Bonzon Consulting LLC
  • abonzon@kent.edu

Don Boozer, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • General Research Collections Manager, Cleveland Public Library, Cleveland, Ohio
  • dboozer1@kent.edu

dominique bortmas, m.l.i.s.

CATHERINE CLOSET-CRANE, PH.D.

Sarah A. Cole, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Vice President of Visitor Experience, Adler Planetarium, Chicago, Illinois
  • scole21@kent.edu

Laura Creekmore, B.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • President, Creek Content
  • lcreekmo@kent.edu

Jessica A. Curtis, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Adult Services Librarian, Westerville Public Library, Westerville, Ohio
  • jcurtis5@kent.edu

Harold (Keith) Davis, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Community Facilitator, Cyber Center of Excellence (Army)
  • hdavis19@kent.edu

Timothy J. Dickey, M.L.I.S., Ph.D.

Sean Dolan, M.S., M.L.I.S.

Christina Dorr, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Media Specialist, Hilliard City School District, Hilliard, Ohio
  • cdorr@kent.edu

Rebecca Elder, M.S.I.S, CaS

  • Rebecca Elder Cultural Heritage Preservation

Sofia Empel, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Information Governance Consultant, InfoCentric Strategies, Hasbrouck Heights, N.J.
  • sempel@kent.edu

Joanne Fenn, M.A., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor, Collections Manager/ Museum Registrar, Kent State University Museum, Kent, Ohio
  • jfenn1@kent.edu

NICOLE FERNANDEZ, M.S.

CHRISTINE FOWLER SHEARER

Timothy Hackman, M.A., M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Director of User Services and Resource Sharing, University of Maryland Libraries, College Park, Md. 
  • thackman@kent.edu

Catherine Hakala-Ausperk, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Owner, Libraries Thrive; retired Executive Director, NEO-RLS, Hudson Ohio
  • chakala@kent.edu

Thomas Hayes, M.F.A., M.L.S.

Darren W. Hood, M.S.I.M., M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Manager, UX, Bosch, Warren, Mich.
  • dhood3@kent.edu

REX HUGHES II, M.L.I.S.

  • Metadata & Cataloging Librarian
  • North Dakota State University Libraries
  • rhughe10@kent.edu

eric o. johnson, m.l.i.s. m.Div.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Data Librarian, Center for Digital Scholarship, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio
  • ejohn102@kent.edu

Miriam Kahn, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Library Consultant and Researcher at-large, MBK Consulting, Columbus, Ohio
  • mkahn1@kent.edu

SHARI LASTER, M.S.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Government Data and Information Librarian, UCSB Library, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • slaster@kent.edu

CHELSEA M. LAWTON, M.S., RHIS

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • System Analyst, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland Ohio
  • clawton2@kent.edu

JOHN LEWIS, ED.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Cofounder, The CoHero Institute
  • jlewis97@kent.edu

 

Josh Line, M.S., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Senior UX Designer, Tobii Dynavox; Principal, Narrativ
  • jline@kent.edu

James Lockshaw, M.B.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • IT Director, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio
  • jlocksha@kent.edu

Deborah Loiacono, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Director, Ida Rupp Public Library, Port Clinton, Ohio
  • dloiacon@kent.edu

JOE MANGANELLI, PH.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Building Design Specialist, Fluor Enterprises Inc., Greenville, S.C.
  • jmangane@kent.edu

Sue Mccleaf Nespeca, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Early Literacy and Children's Literature Consultant, Kid Lit Plus Consulting, Gettysburg, Pa.
  • snespeca@kent.edu

Alissa Miller, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  • amill255@kent.edu

Shelly S. Miller, M.L.I.S., MSc., M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Continuing Education Coordinator, OHIONET, Columbus, Ohio
  • smill107@kent.edu

Jeff Mixter, M.L.I.S, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Research Support Specialist, OCLC Research, Dublin, Ohio
  • jmixter@kent.edu

Brian Moon

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Officer, Perigean Technologies LLC
  • bmoon3@kent.edu

C. Allen Nichols, M.L.S., M.B.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Library Director (retired), Wadsworth Public Library, Wadsworth, Ohio; Executive Director (current), Akron Bar Association
  • cnichol1@kent.edu

Cynthia Orr, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • President, Cynthia Orr Consulting,Inc., Editor, ReadersAdvisorOnline.com/blog; Contributing Editor,
    Library Journal
  • corr@kent.edu

Elizabeth Owens, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Information Management Consultant, OJIN
  • eowens3@kent.edu

Sean Petiya, M.L.I.S., M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Software Development Engineer, Yardi Systems, Cleveland, Ohio
  • spetiya1@kent.edu

ADAM A. POLANSKY

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • UXD Strategist, Bottle Rocket Apps, Dallas, Texas
  • apolans1@kent.edu

Kelsey Pytlik, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Architect, Frontgate, Cincinnati, Ohio

Monica A. Ralston, M.A.

William j. Robinson

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Director, Global Research and Analysis, Fidelity National Information Services (FIS), Santa Barbara, Calif.
  • wrobins3@kent.edu

Ed Rossman, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Adult Services Librarian, Shaker Heights Public Library, Shaker Heights, Ohio
  • erossman@kent.edu

Angela Schmeidel Randall 

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Principal, Normal Modes LLC
  • arandal5@kent.edu

Katherine Scherrer, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Owner, Connected Communities
  • kscherre@kent.edu

Christine Fowler Shearer, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Associate Lecturer, University of Akron
  • csheare1@kent.edu

John E. Simmons

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • President, Museologica, Bellefonte, Pa.
  • jsimmo20@kent.edu

jack simpson, mlis, m.a.

  • Freelance researcher and writer 
  • Former Curator, Local and Family History, Newberry Library, Chicago

julia skinner, ph.d.

  • Curator of Rare Books, Bentley Rare Book Museum (Georgia)
  • Atlanta based book artist and independent researcher

Samantha Starmer, M.L.I.S

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Razorfish Vice President, Customer Experience 
  • sstarmer@kent.edu

Stacy Surla, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Lead, ICF International, Rockville, Md.
  • ssurla@kent.edu

Amber Veverka, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Learning Resource Center Manager, Fortis College, Ravenna, Ohio
  • amrodrig@kent.edu

Rachel d. von Hendrix, M.S., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Designer, Westfield Group, Westfield Center, Ohio
  • rvonhend@kent.edu

Susan Weaver, M.S.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Professor of Library and Media Services, Director of Library Services, Kent State University East Liverpool Campus, East Liverpool, Ohio
  • sweaver@kent.edu

Brian Wierman, MBA, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Management Consulting, Military (reserve Marine Corps major)
  • bwierman@kent.edu

Winter Woolston, M.A., M.L.I.S

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Metadata Migration Project Manager, Art Department Visual Resource Center, Kent State University, Kent, Ohio
  • wwoolsto@kent.edu

Paul Ylvisaker, J.D., M.S.N., RN

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • Staff Nurse, Neurology, Banner Health, Tucson, Ariz.
  • pylvisak@kent.edu