Part-Time Faculty

Earl Bailey, Ph.D.

Iouri Bairatchnyi, Ph.D.

Jessica Becker, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Senior Director of Web Design & Development, Case Western Reserve University
  • jbecke13@kent.edu

Jamie Bloss, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Librarian, University of the South Pacific (Fiji)
  • jbloss1@kent.edu

Christine L. Bonner, M.L.I.S., Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Reference and Instruction Services Coordinator, Ohio Dominican University Library, Columbus, Ohio
  • cbonner@kent.edu

Don Boozer, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • General Research Collections Manager, Cleveland Public Library, Cleveland, Ohio
  • dboozer1@kent.edu

Dominique Bortmas, M.L.I.S.

Sarah A. Cole, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Vice President of Visitor Experience, Adler Planetarium, Chicago, Illinois
  • scole21@kent.edu

Laura Creekmore, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • President, Creek Content
  • lcreekmo@kent.edu

Chris Cunningham, Ph.D

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Data Analyst & Corporate Librarian, Cutting Edge Signs
  • ccunni31@kent.edu

Jessica A. Curtis, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Adult Services Librarian, Westerville Public Library, Westerville, Ohio
  • jcurtis5@kent.edu

Mara L. Daiker, MS, RHIA, CPHIMS, SHIMSS

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • Director, Professional Development, HIMSS, Chicago, IL
  • mdaiker@kent.edu

Stephen Dalina, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Rutgers University - Business and Auxiliary Services
  • sdalina@ksu.edu

Lizabeth Deskins, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • K-12 Librarian, Hilliard City Schools
  • ldeskins@kent.edu

Timothy J. Dickey, M.L.I.S., Ph.D.

Sean Dolan, M.S., M.L.I.S.

G. Kim Dority, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Faculty, Library and Information Science
  • President, Dority & Associates, Inc., Centennial, CO
  • gdority1@kent.edu

Christina Dorr, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Media Specialist, Hilliard City School District, Hilliard, Ohio
  • cdorr@kent.edu

William (Bill) Edgar, PhD

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Former Research and Instructional Librarian/Clinical Associate Professor of Library Science/Government Information Librarian, Missouri State University
  • WEDGAR2@kent.edu

Rebecca Elder, M.S.I.S, Ca.S.

  • Cultural Heritage Preservation
  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • relder8@kent.edu

Sofia Empel, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Information Governance Consultant, InfoCentric Strategies, Hasbrouck Heights, N.J.
  • sempel@kent.edu

Travis Feder

Joanne Fenn, M.A., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor, Collections Manager/ Museum Registrar, Kent State University Museum, Kent, Ohio
  • jfenn1@kent.edu

Nicole Fernandez, M.S.

Thomas Froehlich

Beate Gersch, Ph.D

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Head of Liaison and Orientation Services, Harvard Library
  • bgersch@kent.edu

Annette Y. Goldsmith, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Librarian, Sephardic Temple Tifereth Israel (Los Angeles)
  • agoldsm1@kent.edu

Catherine Hakala-Ausperk, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Owner, Libraries Thrive; retired  Executive Director, NEO-RLS, Hudson, Ohio
  • chakala@kent.edu

Winter Henderson, M.L.I.S., M.A.

Erin Hetrick, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science Beate Gersch, Ph.D
  • President, Genius Advocate (Indianapolis, IN)

Yi Hong, Ph.D., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • Clinical Data Architect, MedeAnalytics Inc.
  • yhong3@kent.edu

Darren W. Hood, M.S.I.M., M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • United Wholesale Mortgage, Senior UX Designer (Pontiac, MI)
  • dhood3@kent.edu

Mari Howells

Rex Hughes II, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Cataloging and Metadata Librarian, Swarthmore College Libraries (Pennsylvania)
  • rhughe10@kent.edu

Eric O. Johnson, M.L.I.S., m.Div.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Data Librarian, Center for Digital Scholarship, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio
  • ejohn102@kent.edu


Karla C. Kaufman, M.L.I.S., M.P.H., AHIP

  • Part-time Faculty, Library and Information Science
  • Medical Library Chief, Corporal Michael J. Crescenz Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • karla.kaufman@va.gov

Dick Kawooya, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Associate Professor and Interim Director, School of Library and Information Science, University of South Carolina
  • dkawooya@kent.edu

Donald Kulpa, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Intake Document Indexer,Franklin County Board of Developmental Disabilities
  • dkulpa@kent.edu

Chelsea M. Lawton, M.S., R.H.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • System Analyst, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland Ohio
  • clawton2@kent.edu

Nancy Lensenmayer, A.M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Program director, Education and Professional Development, at OCLC (Online Computer Library Center Inc.), Columbus, Ohio
  • nlensenm@kent.edu

John Lewis, ED.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Cofounder, The CoHero Institute
  • jlewis97@kent.edu

Josh Line, M.S., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Senior UX Designer, Tobii Dynavox; Principal, Narrativ
  • jline@kent.edu

James Lockshaw, MBA

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • IT Director, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio
  • jlocksha@kent.edu

Deborah Loiacono, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Adult Services Manager, Westlake Porter Public Library, Westlake, Ohio
  • dloiacon@kent.edu

Joseph Manganelli, PhD

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience and Design
  • Owner/Designer/Researcher, xplr design, llc, Greenville, SC
  • jmangane@kent.edu

Felesia McDonald, MS

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Designer/Researcher, OEConnection, Richfield, OH
  • fmcdonal@kent.edu

Miriam Meislik, MLS

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Media Curator, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
  • MMEISLIK@kent.edu

Alissa Miller, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Associate Professor and Digital Scholarship Librarian, Middle Tennessee State University
  • amill255@kent.edu

Jeff Mixter, M.L.I.S, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Research Support Specialist, OCLC Research, Dublin, Ohio
  • jmixter@kent.edu

Dana Nemeth, M.A., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Executive Director, Wood County Historical Center and Museum
  • dnemeth2@kent.edu

C. Allen Nichols, M.L.S., MBA

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Library Director (retired), Wadsworth Public Library, Wadsworth, Ohio; Executive Director (current), Akron Bar Association
  • cnichol1@kent.edu

Peggy Nzomo, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Global Education Librarian, Kent State University
  • pnzomo@kent.edu

Elizabeth Owens, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Information Management Consultant, OJIN
  • eowens3@kent.edu

Richard Parsons, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Assistant Professor of Finance and Economics, Texas A & M Texarkana
  • rparso10@kent.edu

Sean Petiya, M.L.I.S., M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Software Development Engineer, Yardi Systems, Cleveland, Ohio
  • spetiya1@kent.edu

Kelsey Hawke Pytlik, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Architect, Frontgate, Cincinnati, Ohio

Monica A. Ralston, M.A.

Angela Schmeidel Randall

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Principal, Normal Modes LLC
  • arandal5@kent.edu

Katherine Scherrer, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Owner, Connected Communities
  • kscherre@kent.edu

Edith Serkownek, M.L.S, M.Ed, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor, University Libraries, Kent State University
  • eserkown@kent.edu

John Sharp

Drew Shipka, MS

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience and Design
  • Coordinator, Online Learning, Kent State University, Kent, OH
  • ashipka@kent.edu

Jack Simpson, M.L.I.S., M.A.

  • Freelance researcher and writer 
  • Former Curator, Local and Family History, Newberry Library, Chicago

Julia Skinner, Ph.D.

  • Curator of Rare Books, Bentley Rare Book Museum (Georgia)
  • Atlanta based book artist and independent researcher

Jennifer E. Steele, Ph.D., M.L.I.S.

Stacy Surla, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Lead, ICF International, Rockville, Md.
  • ssurla@kent.edu

Jennifer Teves

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Director of Research, Best Buy (Customer Experience Team)

Andrew Vitale, MS

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience and Design
  • Head of User Experience Design, SunTrust, Atlanta, GA
  • avitale3@kent.edu

Susan Weaver, M.S.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Professor of Library and Media Services, Director of Library Services, Kent State University East Liverpool Campus, East Liverpool, Ohio
  • sweaver@kent.edu

Brian Wierman, MBA, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Management Consulting, Military (reserve Marine Corps major)
  • bwierman@kent.edu

Ben Woods, M.S., MBA

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Vice President of User Experience, Metisentry (Akron, OH)
  • dwoods4@kent.edu

Paul Ylvisaker, J.D., M.S.N., RN

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • Staff Nurse, Neurology, Banner Health, Tucson, Ariz.
  • pylvisak@kent.edu