Part-Time Faculty | School of Information | Kent State University

Part-Time Faculty

IOURI BAIRATCHNYI, PH.D.

Cari Baker Dubiel, M.L.I.S.

  • Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Computer Services Manager, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, Ohio
  • cbaker3@kent.edu

Jessica Becker, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Senior Director of Web Design & Development, Case Western Reserve University
  • jbecke13@kent.edu

Jamie Bloss, MLIS

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Librarian, University of the South Pacific (Fiji)
  • jbloss1@kent.edu

CHRISTINE L. BONNER, M.L.I.S., PH.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Reference and Instruction Services Coordinator, Ohio Dominican University Library, Columbus, Ohio
  • cbonner@kent.edu

Denise Bonzon, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Strategist, D'Bonzon Consulting LLC
  • abonzon@kent.edu

Don Boozer, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • General Research Collections Manager, Cleveland Public Library, Cleveland, Ohio
  • dboozer1@kent.edu

dominique bortmas, m.l.i.s.

Sarah A. Cole, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Vice President of Visitor Experience, Adler Planetarium, Chicago, Illinois
  • scole21@kent.edu

Sharon L. Comstock, Ph.D., M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Inquiry & Impact Officer, Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library
  • scomsto1@kent.edu

Laura Creekmore, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • President, Creek Content
  • lcreekmo@kent.edu

Chris Cunningham, Ph.D

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Data Analyst & Corporate Librarian, Cutting Edge Signs
  • ccunni31@kent.edu

Jessica A. Curtis, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Adult Services Librarian, Westerville Public Library, Westerville, Ohio
  • jcurtis5@kent.edu

Stephen Dalina, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Rutgers University - Business and Auxiliary Services
  • sdalina@ksu.edu

Sharon Dean, Ph.D

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Director, Museum, Library and Native American Outreach, Ohio Historical Society
  • sdean8@kent.edu

Lizabeth Deskins, MA

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • K-12 Librarian, Hillard City Schools
  • ldeskins@kent.edu

Timothy J. Dickey, M.L.I.S., Ph.D.

Sean Dolan, M.S., M.L.I.S.

G. Kim Dority, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Faculty, Library and Information Science
  • President, Dority & Associates, Inc., Centennial, CO
  • gdority1@kent.edu

Christina Dorr, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Media Specialist, Hilliard City School District, Hilliard, Ohio
  • cdorr@kent.edu

Rebecca Elder, M.S.I.S, CaS

  • Rebecca Elder Cultural Heritage Preservation

Sofia Empel, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Information Governance Consultant, InfoCentric Strategies, Hasbrouck Heights, N.J.
  • sempel@kent.edu

Chatham Ewing, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Digital Library Strategist, Cleveland Public Library
  • cewing13@kent.edu

Omer Farooq, Ph.d.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor, University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • ofarooq@kent.edu

Travis Feder

Joanne Fenn, M.A., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor, Collections Manager/ Museum Registrar, Kent State University Museum, Kent, Ohi
  • jfenn1@kent.edu

NICOLE FERNANDEZ, M.S.

Thomas Froehlich

Beate Gersch, Ph.D

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Head of Liaison and Orientation Services, Harvard Library

Annette Y. Goldsmith, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Librarian, Sephardic Temple Tifereth Israel (Los Angeles)
  • agoldsm1@kent.edu

Catherine Hakala-Ausperk, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Owner, Libraries Thrive; retired  Executive Director, NEO-RLS, Hudson Ohio
  • chakala@kent.edu

Thomas Hayes, M.F.A., M.L.S.

Winter Henderson, M.L.I.S., M.A.

Erin Hetrick, MA

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science Beate Gersch, Ph.D
  • President, Genius Advocate (Indianapolis, IN)

Yi Hong, Ph.D., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • Clinical Data Architect, MedeAnalytics Inc.
  • yhong3@kent.edu

Darren W. Hood, M.S.I.M., M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Manager, UX, Bosch, Warren, Mich.
  • dhood3@kent.edu

REX HUGHES II, M.L.I.S.

  • Metadata & Cataloging Librarian
  • North Dakota State University Libraries
  • rhughe10@kent.edu

eric o. johnson, m.l.i.s. m.Div.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Data Librarian, Center for Digital Scholarship, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio
  • ejohn102@kent.edu


Karla C. Kaufman, MLIS, MPH, AHIP

  • Part-time Faculty, Library and Information Science
  • Medical Library Chief, Corporal Michael J. Crescenz Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • karla.kaufman@va.gov

Dick Kawooya, Ph.D

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Associate Professor and Interim Director,  School of Library and Information Science, University of South Carolina
  • dkawooya@kent.edu

Donald Kulpa, MLIS

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Intake Document Indexer,Franklin County Board of Developmental Disabilities
  • dkulpa@kent.edu

SHARI LASTER, M.S.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Government Data and Information Librarian, UCSB Library, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • slaster@kent.edu

CHELSEA M. LAWTON, M.S., RHIS

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • System Analyst, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland Ohio
  • clawton2@kent.edu

NANCY LENSENMAYER, A.M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Program director, Education and Professional Development, at OCLC (Online Computer Library Center Inc.), Columbus, Ohio
  • nlensenm@kent.edu

JOHN LEWIS, ED.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Cofounder, The CoHero Institute
  • jlewis97@kent.edu

 

Josh Line, M.S., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Senior UX Designer, Tobii Dynavox; Principal, Narrativ
  • jline@kent.edu

James Lockshaw, M.B.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • IT Director, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio
  • jlocksha@kent.edu

Deborah Loiacono, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Director, Ida Rupp Public Library, Port Clinton, Ohio
  • dloiacon@kent.edu

felesia McDonald

Patricia Michalski

Alissa Miller, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor and Digital Scholarship Librarian, Middle Tennessee State University
  • amill255@kent.edu

    Jeff Mixter, M.L.I.S, M.S.

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Research Support Specialist, OCLC Research, Dublin, Ohio
    • jmixter@kent.edu

    Dana Nemeth, MA, MLIS

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Executive Director, Wood County Historical Center and Museum
    • dnemeth2@kent.edu

    C. Allen Nichols, M.L.S., M.B.A.

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Library Director (retired), Wadsworth Public Library, Wadsworth, Ohio; Executive Director (current), Akron Bar Association
    • cnichol1@kent.edu

    Peggy Nzomo, Ph.D.

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Global Education Librarian, Kent State University
    • pnzomo@kent.edu

    Elizabeth Owens, M.L.I.S.

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Information Management Consultant, OJIN
    • eowens3@kent.edu

    Richard Parsons, Ph.D.

    • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
    • Assistant Professor of Finance and Economics, Texas A & M Texarkana
    • rparso10@kent.edu

    Sean Petiya, M.L.I.S., M.S.

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Software Development Engineer, Yardi Systems, Cleveland, Ohio
    • spetiya1@kent.edu

    Kelsey Pytlik, M.S.

    • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
    • User Experience Architect, Frontgate, Cincinnati, Ohio

    Angela Randall, M.L.S.

    Monica A. Ralston, M.A.

    Angela Schmeidel Randall 

    • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
    • Principal, Normal Modes LLC
    • arandal5@kent.edu

    Katherine Scherrer, M.L.I.S.

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Owner, Connected Communities
    • kscherre@kent.edu

    John Sharp

    Edith Serkownek, MLS, M.Ed, MA

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Assistant Professor, University Libraries, Kent State University
    • eserkown@kent.edu

    Christine Fowler Shearer, Ph.D.

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Associate Lecturer, University of Akron
    • csheare1@kent.edu

    John E. Simmons

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • President, Museologica, Bellefonte, Pa.
    • jsimmo20@kent.edu

    jack simpson, mlis, m.a.

    • Freelance researcher and writer 
    • Former Curator, Local and Family History, Newberry Library, Chicago

    julia skinner, ph.d.

    • Curator of Rare Books, Bentley Rare Book Museum (Georgia)
    • Atlanta based book artist and independent researcher

    Samantha Starmer, M.L.I.S

    • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
    • Razorfish Vice President, Customer Experience 
    • sstarmer@kent.edu

    Jennifer E. Steele, Ph.D., M.L.I.S.

    Stacy Surla, M.A.

    • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
    • User Experience Lead, ICF International, Rockville, Md.
    • ssurla@kent.edu

    Jennifer Teves

    • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design

    Stacy Thompson, M.F.A.

    • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
    • Manager of Content Strategy & Development, Powered by GE
    • sthomp86@kent.edu

    Amber Veverka, M.L.I.S.

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Learning Resource Center Manager, Fortis College, Ravenna, Ohio
    • amrodrig@kent.edu

    Susan Weaver, M.S.L.S.

    • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
    • Professor of Library and Media Services, Director of Library Services, Kent State University East Liverpool Campus, East Liverpool, Ohio
    • sweaver@kent.edu

    Brian Wierman, MBA, M.A.

    • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
    • Management Consulting, Military (reserve Marine Corps major)
    • bwierman@kent.edu

    Paul Ylvisaker, J.D., M.S.N., RN

    • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
    • Staff Nurse, Neurology, Banner Health, Tucson, Ariz.
    • pylvisak@kent.edu