Part-Time Faculty

Our talented part-time and adjunct faculty are leaders in their industries and bring that experience to what our students learn in the fields of library and information science, user experience design, health informatics and knowledge management. Below you can find a list of our part-time adjuncts who do not have a full profile yet. For information about our other adjuncts and our full-time faculty, please view our faculty profiles.

Iouri Bairatchnyi, Ph.D.

Sarah A. Cole, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Vice President of Visitor Experience, Adler Planetarium, Chicago, Illinois
  • scole21@kent.edu

Laura Creekmore, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • President, Creek Content
  • lcreekmo@kent.edu

Mara L. Daiker, MS, RHIA, CPHIMS, SHIMSS

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • Director, Professional Development, HIMSS, Chicago, IL
  • mdaiker@kent.edu

Sean Dolan, M.S., M.L.I.S.

William (Bill) Edgar, PhD

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Former Research and Instructional Librarian/Clinical Associate Professor of Library Science/Government Information Librarian, Missouri State University
  • WEDGAR2@kent.edu

Sofia Empel, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Information Governance Consultant, InfoCentric Strategies, Hasbrouck Heights, N.J.
  • sempel@kent.edu

Nicole Fernandez, M.S.

Beate Gersch, Ph.D

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Head of Liaison and Orientation Services, Harvard Library
  • bgersch@kent.edu

Winter Henderson, M.L.I.S., M.A.

Mari Howells

Karla C. Kaufman, M.L.I.S., M.P.H., AHIP

  • Part-time Faculty, Library and Information Science
  • Medical Library Chief, Corporal Michael J. Crescenz Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • karla.kaufman@va.gov

Dick Kawooya, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Associate Professor and Interim Director, School of Library and Information Science, University of South Carolina
  • dkawooya@kent.edu

Donald Kulpa, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Intake Document Indexer,Franklin County Board of Developmental Disabilities
  • dkulpa@kent.edu

Chelsea M. Lawton, M.S., R.H.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • System Analyst, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland Ohio
  • clawton2@kent.edu

Josh Line, M.S., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Senior UX Designer, Tobii Dynavox; Principal, Narrativ
  • jline@kent.edu

James Lockshaw, MBA

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • IT Director, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio
  • jlocksha@kent.edu

Miriam Meislik, MLS

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Media Curator, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
  • MMEISLIK@kent.edu

Jeff Mixter, M.L.I.S, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Research Support Specialist, OCLC Research, Dublin, Ohio
  • jmixter@kent.edu

Peggy Nzomo, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Global Education Librarian, Kent State University
  • pnzomo@kent.edu

Elizabeth Owens, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Information Management Consultant, OJIN
  • eowens3@kent.edu

Richard Parsons, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Assistant Professor of Finance and Economics, Texas A & M Texarkana
  • rparso10@kent.edu

Monica A. Ralston, M.A.

Angela Schmeidel Randall

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Principal, Normal Modes LLC
  • arandal5@kent.edu

Edith Serkownek, M.L.S, M.Ed, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor, University Libraries, Kent State University
  • eserkown@kent.edu

Jack Simpson, M.L.I.S., M.A.

  • Freelance researcher and writer 
  • Former Curator, Local and Family History, Newberry Library, Chicago

Julia Skinner, Ph.D.

  • Curator of Rare Books, Bentley Rare Book Museum (Georgia)
  • Atlanta based book artist and independent researcher

Jennifer E. Steele, Ph.D., M.L.I.S.

Stacy Surla, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Lead, ICF International, Rockville, Md.
  • ssurla@kent.edu

Susan Weaver, M.S.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Professor of Library and Media Services, Director of Library Services, Kent State University East Liverpool Campus, East Liverpool, Ohio
  • sweaver@kent.edu

Brian Wierman, MBA, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Management Consulting, Military (reserve Marine Corps major)
  • bwierman@kent.edu

Ben Woods, M.S., MBA

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Vice President of User Experience, Metisentry (Akron, OH)
  • dwoods4@kent.edu

Paul Ylvisaker, J.D., M.S.N., RN

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • Staff Nurse, Neurology, Banner Health, Tucson, Ariz.
  • pylvisak@kent.edu