Current Students: Apply for JMC Scholarships | School of Journalism & Mass Communication | Kent State University

Current Students: Apply for JMC Scholarships

Thanks to the contributions of alumni, friends, corporations, foundations and professional associations, JMC awarded a record-breaking number of scholarships in 2018 to more than 100 deserving current students. You could be one of them!

The application is closed for 2018

These scholarships are for students who are currently enrolled in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State. To learn more about other JMC and university scholarships for incoming freshmen, visit the Future Student Scholarship page.

Please be sure to review our Scholarship Guidelines.

Please note: Not all of the JMC scholarships listed below are offered every year. Some are offered on an alternating-year basis and all scholarships in JMC require a minimum overall GPA of 2.75.


AVAILABLE Scholarships

  • American Society of Business Press Editors Scholarship

  • Ronald Dean Clark Scholarship in Editorial Writing

  • Walton D. Clarke Endowed Scholarship

  • Press Club of Cleveland / Dick Kostic Scholarship

  • Robert C. and Helen Westcott Dix Scholarship

  • Roger F. Dreyer Memorial Scholarship

  • Christopher and Judith Everett Endowed Scholarship for Photography

  • William A. Fisher Scholarship

  • Albert E. Fitzpatrick Endowed Scholarship

  • Wallace J. Hagedorn Photojournalism Scholarship

  • Philip A. Macomber Memorial Scholarship

  • BethAnn McClain Scholarship

  • Robert G. McGruder Minority Scholarship

  • Devin C. G. Moore Memorial Scholarship

  • Douglass Moore Photography Scholarship

  • Frances B. Murphey Scholarship

  • Paul Poorman Memorial Scholarship

  • Lisa Katz Pagel Scholarship

  • John L. Scott Broadcast Journalism Endowed Scholarship

  • Scripps-Howard Foundation/Herb Kamm Scholarship

  • Ralph W. and Bettie Smith Memorial Award

  • Robert Sorino Jr. Family Memorial Fund

  • Dr. Gene Stebbins/JMC Alumni Council Scholarship

  • James M. Sutherland Scholarship

  • Trudy and Allen Goodkin Scholarship

  • Robert K. Shaul Scholarship

  • Ralph C. Darrow Award

  • E. Zoe McCathrin Public Relations Scholarship

  • David A. Meeker Endowed Scholarship

  • PRSSA Fellowship Award

  • Ludel Sauvageot Scholarship

  • Ada and Roger Fidler Scholarship

  • Jeff Fruit Journalism Scholarship

  • Lloyd W. Hanson and Harvey E. Rahn Endowed Scholarship

  • William H. Oliver Fellowship in Public Affairs

  • JMC Alumni Council Legacy Endowed Scholarship

  • Paula Slimak Scholarship in Journalism and Mass Communication

  • Wallace H. and Peggy V. Stroud Endowed Scholarship

  • Loris Troyer Scholarship

  • Nancy E. Whitehead Journalism Scholarship

  • Dr. Richard M. Uray Broadcasting Endowed Scholarship

  • Dennis G. Cipriany Endowed Scholarship in Journalism and Mass Communication

  • The James and Barbera A. Vargo Scholarship for Investigative Journalism



Below are other opportunities for JMC students, but they are not administered by the School of Journalism and are not part of the JMC application process. Check back for links to application instructions. 

  • AAF-Cleveland. AAF-Cleveland awards scholarships to junior and senior students studying communications, marketing, advertising, graphic design,digital media, public relations, journalism and more. Learn more.

  • AAF-Akron. AAF-Akron awards scholarships to junior and senior students studying communications, marketing, advertising, graphic design, digital media, public relations, journalism and more. Application deadline is January 19. Learn more.

  • Ohio Newspaper Foundation Scholarships. Deadline is March 31, 2018, for scholarships for journalism, advertising, marketing and communication students. Learn more.

  • Cleveland Association of Broadcasters Scholarship. Awarded to sophomores and juniors enrolled in a major related to broadcasting, journalism, media, communication, advertising, etc., from Carroll, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, Stark or Summit counties. Application Deadline: March 11, 2018. Learn more

  • College of Communication and Information (CCI) Study Abroad Scholarship. For CCI students taking a Study Abroad course.

  • The John S. Knight Scholarships. The John S. Knight Scholarships are awarded by the Akron Press Club and are open to all journalism students at Kent State University, Akron University, Hiram College and any local journalism student studying out of state. Learn more. 

  • David A. Meeker Akron Area PRSA Scholarship. The Akron Area Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America awards one outstanding student the David A. Meeker Scholarship. The winner receives $1,000 and a one-year associate membership to PRSA following graduation. Also, two other winners are awarded one-year associate memberships to PRSA upon graduation. Applicants must be full-time students majoring in Public Relations or Communication and currently attending the University of Akron, Kent State University, Malone College, Mount Union, Walsh University or Youngstown State University.

  • YouToo Social Media Conference Scholarship. The Akron Area Public Relations Society of America awards a scholarship to a public relations major from funds raised by its annual YouToo Social Media Conference. Learn more.

  • CCI Global First Passport FundContact Stephanie Smith, Assistant Professor and Director of Global Initiatives for CCI, at, to learn more about earning a scholarship to cover the cost of your first passport.