Six JMC Students Receive Knight, Sauvageot Scholarships | School of Journalism & Mass Communication | Kent State University

Six JMC Students Receive Knight, Sauvageot Scholarships

Awards Total $5,000 Per Student

Six students from the Kent State School of Journalism and Mass Communication were honored on Friday, April 29, 2016, with prestigious journalism scholarships.

The John S. Knight Memorial Journalism Fund Inc. annually awards scholarships to college journalism, public relations and communications students, with preference given to students from Summit, Portage, Medina, Stark and Wayne counties. The scholarships, totaling $5,000 per student, are awarded in memory of John S. Knight, longtime editor of the Akron Beacon Journal and founder of Knight Ridder newspapers. Another is awarded in memory of longtime PR professional and professor Ludel Sauvageot.

Kent State JMC students received six of the seven scholarships awarded.

Congratulations to Gabrielle Woodard, '17 (public relations), Alyssa Schmitt, '16 (journalism), Andrew Keiper, '17 (journalism), Karl Schneider, '16 (journalism), Theresa Cottom, '18 (journalism) and Jimmy Miller, '17 (journalism). 

POSTED: Friday, April 29, 2016 - 7:40pm
UPDATED: Monday, May 2, 2016 - 2:08pm