Professional Advisory Board | School of Journalism & Mass Communication | Kent State University

Professional Advisory Board

In 1997, JMC formed a Professional Advisory Board (PAB) of prominent alumni and communication industry professionals with strong ties to the JMC program. The PAB links JMC to industry leaders and helps ensure our continuing ability to prepare students for 21st-century media careers.

PAB members have given generously over the years to help fund scholarships and gifts, provide internships, assist with special projects and help students and new graduates with professional placements.

Membership on the Board is by invitation only, normally resulting from nominations by faculty, current board members or alumni. The PAB is made up of two groups: Core Members and Affiliate Members. Core Members attend bi-annual PAB meetings while Affiliate Members support JMC initiatives from afar.


Cynthia Vrsanky Schulz, Communications Executive, Calfee Strategic Solutions

Cindy Kurman Barrie, President, Kurman Communications, Inc.

Elizabeth Bartz, President and CEO, State and Federal Communications, Inc.

Wayne Dawson, Co-Anchor and Reporter, WJW-TV

Jim Nash, Managing Partner, Marcus Thomas Assoc.

Mark C. Nylander, Executive Director, Advertising & Marketing International Network

Gretchan Sekulich, Vice President of Communications, FirstEnergy

Stephanie Danes Smith, Retired, Director for Support, Central Intelligence Agency

Dan Ronan, Vice President for Strategic Communications, Intelligent Transportation Society  (ITS) of America

Mark Turner, Executive News Editor, The Beacon Journal 

Laura Watilo Blake, Freelance Writer, Photographer, Editor

Debra Adams Simmons, Executive Editor, National Geographic

Bruce Winges, Vice President and Editor, The Beacon Journal