New Music at Kent State welcomes Grammy and Pulitzer prize-winning composer Yehudi Wyner and the Blue Streak Ensemble Dec. 1

Second Vanguard Guest Artist Series concert

New Music at Kent State’s second Vanguard Guest Artist Series concert welcomes the Blue Streak Ensemble with guest pianist and composer Yehudi Wyner on Fri., Dec. 1 at 8 p.m. in Ludwig Recital Hall. The concert will feature works by award-winning composers Frank Wiley, Yehudi Wyner and Margaret Brouwer. Free and open to the public. Ludwig Recital Hall is at 1325 Theatre Drive in the Center for the Performing Arts. Ample free parking is available.

In a concert entitled “Contemplations” the Blue Streak Ensemble, directed by founder Margaret Brouwer, will present a concert of contemporary works by living composers. The concert will open with Margaret Brouwer's “Shattered Glass,” a musical kaleidoscope of color and soundscapes. Audience members will then be treated to Yehudi Wyner’s “Refrain,” performed by the composer himself. After a brief intermission, the African drumming-inspired “Awakenings of Earth and Time” by Kent State’s own Frank Wiley will be featured. Closing the concert will be Wyner’s “Trio,” performed by three members of the Blue Streak Ensemble.

Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Yehudi Wyner has created a diverse body of over 100 works for orchestra, chamber ensemble, chorus, solo performers, theater and liturgical services. He has received commissions from Carnegie Hall, the Boston Symphony, BBC Philharmonic, Library of Congress, Ford Foundation, Koussevitzky Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, Fromm Foundation and the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival. His honors and awards include the 2006 Pulitzer Prize in Music for his Piano Concerto "Chiavi in mano" (2004), two Guggenheim Fellowships, the Brandeis Creative Arts Award, a 2005 Grammy Award for “The Mirror” (1972), the Rome Prize, and the Elise Stoeger Award from Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society for his lifetime contribution to chamber music. He is currently serving as President of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and is also a member of the Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Award-winning composer Margaret Brouwer has earned critical accolades for her music's lyricism, musical imagery and emotional power. Performances of Brouwer’s music include those by the symphonies of Detroit, Dallas, Seattle, Liverpool, Rochester, Cabrillo, American Composers Orchestra, the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, and at such venues as Carnegie Hall, Merkin Hall, Symphony Space, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Tanglewood Festival of Contemporary Music, Orchestra of St. Luke’s, the Kennedy Center, the Corcoran Gallery, Philips Gallery, as well as venues throughout Taiwan and Germany. Dr. Brouwer’s honors include an Award in Music from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a Meet the Composer Commissioning/USA award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, an Ohio Arts Council Individual Fellowship, and grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Ford Foundation and the John S. Knight Foundation.

Cleveland Arts Prize recipient, Frank Wiley, studied composition at the Cleveland Institute of Music with Kent State alumnus Donald Erb. His music has been performed throughout the United States, Europe and the Far East by numerous orchestras, chamber ensembles and soloists. Covering a broad range, he has composed for solo, chamber, orchestral, vocal, choral, multi-media and electronic music mediums. He has received grants and awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Ohio Arts Council, the Bascom Little Fund, the Kent State University Research Council, the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP), and the American Music Center.  Currently, he is a member of Kent State’s Hugh A. Glauser School of Music faculty, where he teaches courses in composition, music theory and music history. Additionally, he founded and co-directs the New Music Ensemble and previously served as the Director of the Kent State University Orchestra. A decorated teacher, he is a previous recipient of Kent State University’s Distinguished Teaching Award.


POSTED: Monday, November 27, 2017 - 9:19am
UPDATED: Monday, November 27, 2017 - 9:19am