34 Area Healthcare Professionals Presented With Barbara Donaho Award by Kent State University College of Nursing During Diamond Anniversary Celebration

34 Area Healthcare Professionals Presented With Barbara Donaho Award During Diamond Anniversary Celebration

The Tenth Annual Barbara Donaho Distinguished Leadership in Learning Awards Ceremony was held at the Kent State Student Center Ballroom on Saturday, April 23, 2016. Kent State University’s College of Nursing hosted the Diamond Anniversary Celebration with nearly 200 people in attendance, including award recipients, guests, faculty and staff. The recipients, or “preceptors,” were from 25 northeast Ohio hospitals, clinics, health networks, private medical practices, and public health agencies. These individuals were nominated by Kent State nursing students, faculty and staff. The award recognizes preceptors for generously donating their time to help mentor, train and advance the knowledge of Kent State’s nursing students in clinical settings.

“Precepting nursing students is no easy task. Along with this year’s hard-working and dedicated nurse preceptors, we would like to acknowledge past Donaho recipients in honor of the Award’s tenth anniversary Diamond Celebration,” said Barbara Broome, dean of the college. “We are grateful for the significant contributions made by so many nurses and physicians to teach our future nursing professionals.”

Started in 2007, the award is named after Barbara A. Donaho, a long-time friend and supporter of Kent State and the College of Nursing. Since the awards inception, her vision, leadership and support has made it possible for the College to recognize nearly 300 outstanding preceptors who have made a significant impact on nursing students and future nurse leaders.

“I felt it was very important to recognize these outstanding preceptors and their employers,” said Donaho. “The time preceptors spend with students, in a clinical setting, is an invaluable part of the students’ education.” 

Donaho’s distinguished career includes roles as an educator, lecturer, director of nursing, senior vice president of patient services and most recently as president and CEO of St. Anthony’s Health Care Center in St. Petersburg, Florida, where she is currently president emerita. She also holds an honorary doctorate of law degree from Kent State.

Melissa Dyer, MBA, MSN, RN, Kent State College of Nursing alumna, lecturer, and a 2013 recipient of the Donaho Award, was the evening’s guest speaker. Dyer explained that just as she has built a strong foundation for her career using the lessons taught by her preceptors, so will students graduating this spring.

“You have given our students what cannot be taught or experienced in the classroom. Little bits of you are now a part of the foundation of our newest nurses. Their patients will be cared for with your skill, compassion, knowledge and zest for nursing,” said Dyer. “The foundation that makes you strong, you have now passed on to a new nursing professional.”

Platinum sponsors for this year’s event were University Hospitals Case Medical Center and Cleveland Clinic Akron General. Additional sponsors included Western Reserve Hospital, Summa Health, The Centers for Families and Children, University Hospitals Geauga Medical Center, Cleveland Clinic, Mercy Medical Center, University Hospitals Portage Medical Center, Akron Children’s Hospital, Community Support Services, Fairview Hospital a Cleveland Clinic hospital, and Trumbull Memorial Hospital. 

About Kent State University’s College of Nursing

In existence for nearly 50 years, the College of Nursing at Kent State University is one of the largest and most comprehensive nursing programs in the nation with more than 12,000 alumni worldwide. As part of Kent State’s eight-campus system, the college provides more than 2,000 nursing students courses of study at the baccalaureate, master’s and doctoral levels. To learn more about nursing programs at Kent State, please visit www.kent.edu/nursing.

PHOTO CAPTION: Barbara Donaho, front center, sits with the 2016 recipients of the Barbara Donaho Distinguished Leadership in Learning Award. 


Watch: Melissa Dyer's Guest Speech



POSTED: Monday, May 2, 2016 01:23 PM
UPDATED: Thursday, December 08, 2022 05:05 PM
Mariah Gibbons