Godspell

July 7 – 23, 2022

Book by John-Michael Tebelak

Music and New Lyrics by Stephen Schwartz

Conceived and Originally Directed by John-Michael Tebelak

Based on The Gospel According to St. Matthew

Originally Produced on the New York Stage by EDGAR LANSBURY / STUART DUNCAN / JOSEPH BERUH

Directed by Dylan Ratell

Godspell was the first major musical theatre offering from three-time Grammy and Academy Award winner, Stephen Schwartz (WickedPippinChildren of Eden); and it took the world by storm. Led by the international hit, "Day by Day," Godspell features a parade of beloved songs, including "Prepare Ye the Way of the Lord," "Learn Your Lessons Well," "All for the Best," "All Good Gifts," "Turn Back, O Man" and "By My Side."

A small group of people help Jesus Christ tell different parables by using a wide variety of games, storytelling techniques and a hefty dose of comic timing. An eclectic blend of songs, ranging in style from pop to vaudeville, is employed as the story of Jesus' life dances across the stage. Dissolving hauntingly into the Last Supper and the Crucifixion, Jesus' messages of kindness, tolerance and love come vibrantly to life. 

Godspell 2012 is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI. www.mtishows.com

 


Performance Dates and Times

Date Time
Thursday, July 7, 2022 8:00 pm
Friday, July 8, 2022 8:00 pm
Saturday, July 9, 2022 8:00 pm
Sunday, July 10, 2022 2:00 pm
Tuesday, July 12, 2022 8:00 pm
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 8:00 pm
Thursday, July 14, 2022 8:00 pm
Friday, July 15, 2022 8:00 pm
Saturday, July 16, 2022 8:00 pm
Sunday, July 17, 2022 2:00 pm
Tuesday, July 19, 2022 8:00 pm
Wednesday, July 20, 2022 8:00 pm
Thursday, July 21, 2022 8:00 pm
Friday, July 22, 2022 8:00 pm
Saturday, July 23, 2022 8:00 pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

SUBSCRIPTIONS AND TICKETS

Subscription Renewals

Current subscribers will receive renewal information via mail in January 2022. Please follow the instructions included in your renewal packet to secure your seats for Porthouse Theatre's 2022 season.

New Subscriptions

New subscriptions will go on sale on Tuesday, February 1, 2022 and are available by phone only at this time. To purchase a new subscription for Porthouse Theatre's 2022 season, please call the box office at 330-672-3884. 

Single Tickets

Single tickets for Porthouse Theatre's 2022 season will go on sale on May 31, 2022. Single tickets will be available to purchase in-person at the Porthouse box office, by phone at 330-672-3884, or online.

Learn More About Subscriptions and Tickets