Committee on Administrative Officers (CAO)

CLASSIFICATION: Faculty Senate Committee

REPORTS TO: Chair of the Faculty Senate

<u>CHARGE</u>: This Committee shall represent the Faculty Senate and the faculty in procedures implemented to select or replace the President, the Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs, and other academic administrative officers of the University. The Committee shall also oversee the implementation of the review procedures for academic administrative officers. It shall be available for consultation by the President on other matters involving administrative officers.

<u>COMPOSITION</u>: Membership on the Committee shall include: Chair of the Faculty Senate who shall be the Chair of the Committee, Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate, three (3) members of the Faculty Senate, three (3) faculty who are not members of the Faculty Senate, two (2) deans, and two (2) students, one of whom shall be an undergraduate and the other a graduate student. At least one of the six faculty members shall be a Regional Campus faculty member.

QUALIFICATIONS OF FACULTY MEMBERS: Faculty nominated for election to the Committee should have experience working with various levels of University administration.

TERM: The terms for the Chair and Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate on the Committee are each one (1) year. The undergraduate and graduate student's terms are also each for one (1) year. The terms of the Senators, non-Senators, and deans on the Committee are each for three (3) years and shall be elected on a rotating basis. The terms of the new members shall commence on August 15.

MEANS OF APPOINTMENT: The Chair and Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate are elected at the Senate meeting held during the eleventh week of the Spring Semester each year and are automatically members of the Committee. The three Senate members and the three non-Senate members of the Committee are elected by the Faculty Senate with one Senator and one non-Senator being elected each year. The two deans are elected by the Council of Academic Deans. The undergraduate student is appointed by the Undergraduate Student Senate and the graduate student is appointed by the Graduate Student Senate.

<u>ALTERNATES</u>: At least one Faculty Senate member and one non-Senate faculty member will be alternates for a year as determined by that year's election.

CALL: The Committee shall be convened by the Chair of the Faculty Senate.

CHAIR: The Chair of the Committee is the Chair of the Faculty Senate.

<u>COMMENTS</u>: After election for the new Faculty Senate officers, the outgoing Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate shall make nominations for both a Senate member and a non-Senate member of the Committee. There shall be a minimum of two nominations for each position. The election may either be conducted by mail or in a regularly scheduled Senate meeting. The electorate is the Senate-elect. Normally, the election is conducted before June 1 but must be held no later than August 1.

Effective: April 11, 1984

Approved by Committee on Committees, April 29, 1998