2nd Annual Spring Celebration and Awards Held April 13

Undergraduate AwardsThe College of Public Health honored students and faculty, recognized two individuals instrumental to the founding of the college and celebrated the careers of three retiring area public health commissioners at its second-annual spring celebration and awards program on April 13. 

Lorriane Odhiambo was the recipient of the graduate student leadership award, while Shelby Barnes received the undergraduate student leadership award. Undergraduate academic excellence awards were given to Rachel Hon, Melody Kitchen, Brittany Lee and Kellie Walters.  Graduate student excellence awards were received by Mollie Sturm, biostatistics; Laura Schuch, environmental health science; Shane Brady, epidemiology; Ryan Brenn, health policy management; and Aimee Budnik, social and behavioral science/prevention science.  Dr. Vinay K. Cheruvu, assistant professor of biostatistics, and Budnik, adjunct professor, received distinguished faculty awards, which were determined by students.  Odhiambo and Frank Henry-Ala were named graduate student volunteers of the year at the university’s spring 2012 leadership and honors awards. 

Dr. Robert G. Frank, Kent State provost and senior vice president for Academic Affairs from 2007-12 and now president of University of New Mexico, was honored for his leadership in establishing the college.  He was recognized along with Dr. Dev S. Pathak, founding dean of the Robert Stempel School of Public Health at Florida International University and former interim dean of the College of Public Health at The Ohio State University.  He also played a key role in the college’s founding.

Three local health commissioners who recently retired were recognized with Lifetime Achievement Awards, including William J. Franks, Stark County Health Department; John Ferlito, City of Kent Health Department; and Matthew A. Stefanak III, Mahoning County District Board of Health.

POSTED: Thursday, August 2, 2012 - 1:35am
UPDATED: Thursday, February 20, 2020 - 1:54pm
College of Public Health