Advisory Committees Play Increasingly Active Role in Advancing College

The college’s External Advisory Committee met recently to receive an update on the college and form three subcommittees to offer guidance on research collaboratives, workforce development issues and fundraising

Advisory-Committee_1.jpgThe college’s External Advisory Committee met recently to receive an update on the college and form three subcommittees to offer guidance on research collaboratives, workforce development issues and fundraising.  In addition, a new Undergraduate Environmental Health Sciences Professional Advisory Committee has been established and held its first meeting on October 30.
The External Advisory Committee is composed of 11 leading public health professionals whose role it is to assist the college in developing strategic partnerships and collaborations; to advise the college during the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) accreditation process; and to identify grant opportunities and sources of scholarships and capital funds.
Dean Sonia Alemagno will consult with the subcommittee addressing possible future research collaboratives, such as the Akron General – Kent State University Health and Wellness Collaborative that was announced in September.   Assistant Dean for Operations and External Affairs Ken Slenkovich will work with committee members on workforce development issues in the region.  Director of Advancement Margot McGimpsey will confer on fundraising with the final new subcommittee.  Initial reports are anticipated at the March 2014 meeting of the overall advisory committee.
The Undergraduate Environmental Health Sciences Professional Advisory Committee will counsel the college regarding curriculum, recruitment, competencies needed in graduates, internships, student preparation for employment, professional employer needs in the community, future trends in the field and continuing education needs.

A committee such as this is required by Environmental Health Science and Protection Accreditation Council (EHAC) guidelines, and the college is beginning preparations to apply for undergraduate program accreditation.  (This is a separate accreditation, not part of the CEPH accreditation.)
Committee members include:  Thomas Babyak, senior product safety engineer, Lockheed Martin CorporationDennis Baden, manager, Environmental Health & Safety, Kent State; Paul DeSario, Environmental Public Health program manager, Cuyahoga County Board of Health; Edward Fasko, environmental manager, Division of Air Pollution Control, Ohio EPA; Brian Gresser, manager, City of Akron Water Reclamation Services;  Robert Hasenyager, environmental health director, Summit County Public Health; Martin Hilovsky, president, EnviroScience, Inc.; DuWayne Porter, health commissioner, Portage County Combined General Health District; Erik Shamberger, senior industrial hygienist, The Sherwin-Williams Company; and Ken Slenkovich, assistant dean for operations and external affairs, Kent State.
The External Advisory Committee Chairman is Dev S. Pathak, Ph.D., who was founding dean of the Robert Stempel School of Public Health at Florida International University and former interim dean of the College of Public Health at The Ohio State University.  Other members of the committee are:  James W. Arbogast, Ph.D., vice president, skin care science and new technology, GOJO Industries, Inc.; Kristine Drummond, D.D.S., chief executive officer, Axess Pointe Community Health CareSteven Gordon, M.D., chairman, infectious disease, Cleveland Clinic; Richard Jacik, vice president, public sector health, CGI Federal; C. William Keck, M.D., retired director of public health, City of Akron, and professor emeritus, family and community medicine, Northeast Ohio Medical University; George Kikano, M.D., department chairman, family medicine, University Hospitals Case Medical Center; Thomas R. Neumann, senior vice president , strategy, marketing and communications, Akron General Health System; Judith Z. Peters, executive vice president, the Centers for Families and Children; Scott T. Wilber, M.D., associate professor, emergency medicine, Northeast Ohio Medical University, and director, Emergency Medicine Research Center, Summa Akron City Hospital; and Theodore E. Wymyslo, M.D., director, Ohio Department of Health.

“We can’t express enough gratitude to these individuals for the time and talent they bring to the college and for the many contributions they’re making to our success,” says Alemagno. 

POSTED: Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 12:00am
UPDATED: Thursday, February 20, 2020 - 1:54pm
College of Public Health