External Advisory Committee Plays Vital Role in Advancement of the College

The college’s External Advisory Committee is composed of 13 leading public health professional

The college’s External Advisory Committee is composed of 13 leading public health professionals whose role it is to assist the college in developing strategic partnerships and collaborations; to advise the college during the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) accreditation process; and to identify grant opportunities and sources of scholarships and capital funds. 

“This is an esteemed group of very prominent members of the public health community,” observes Dean Sonia Alemagno, Ph.D.  “We consider ourselves extremely fortunate that they have agreed to advise and assist us,” she adds. 

Committee Chairman Dev S. Pathak, Ph.D, agrees.  Pathak was founding dean of the Robert Stempel School of Public Health at Florida International University and former interim dean of the College of Public Health at The Ohio State University. “The committee has made an incredible difference in the rapid advancement of the college,” says Pathak. “They share the faculty and administration’s passion for educating upcoming local, national and world public health leaders and have been incisive with advice and counsel about how the college can become an extraordinary institution,” he says. Pathak, instrumental in establishing the Kent State College of Public Health, was recognized with its Founders Award in 2012.

Other members of the committee are: James W. Arbogast, Ph.D., vice president, skincare science and new technology, GOJO Industries, Inc.; John A. Begala, executive director, The Center for Community Solutions; Kristine Drummond, D.D.S., chief executive officer, Akron Community Health Resources Inc.; Steven Gordon, M.D., chairman, infectious disease, The Cleveland Clinic FoundationRichard Jacik, vice president, public sector health, CGI Federal; C. William Keck, M.D., retired director of public health, city of Akron, and professor emeritus, family and community medicine, Northeast Ohio Medical University; Frank Kellogg, health commissioner, Lake County General Health District; George Kikano, M.D., department chairman, family medicine, University Hospitals Case Medical CenterThomas Neumann, senior vice president , strategy, marketing and communications, Akron General Health System; Judith Z. Peters, executive vice president, the Centers for Families and ChildrenScott T. Wilber, M.D., director, Emergency Medicine Research Center, Summa Health System; and Theodore E. Wymyslo, M.D., director, Ohio Department of Health. 

“We can’t express enough gratitude to these individuals for the time and talent they bring to the college and for the many contributions they’re making to our success,” says Alemagno. 

POSTED: Thursday, January 31, 2013 - 11:00pm
UPDATED: Thursday, February 20, 2020 - 1:54pm
College of Public Health