Part-Time Faculty

You are here

Christine Andersen, M.L.I.S., M.Ed.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Children's Services, Stow-Munroe Falls Public Library, Stow, Ohio
  • cander34@kent.edu

Fred Baerkircher

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Highland Square Branch Manager, Akron-Summit County Public Library, Akron, Ohio
  • fbaerkir@kent.edu

IOURI BAIRATCHNYI, PH.D.

Cari Baker Dubiel, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Computer Services Manager, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, Ohio
  • cbaker3@kent.edu

Dan Berlin, M.B.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Managing Director, Experience Research at Mad*Pow, Boston, Mass.
  • dberlin2@kent.edu

Denise Bonzon, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Strategist, D'Bonzon Consulting LLC
  • abonzon@kent.edu

Don Boozer, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • General Research Collections Manager, Cleveland Public Library, Cleveland, Ohio
  • dboozer1@kent.edu

Morag Boyd, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Special Collections Metadata Librarian, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
  • mboyd8@kent.edu

CATHERINE CLOSET-CRANE, PH.D.

Sarah A. Cole, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Vice President of Visitor Experience, Adler Planetarium, Chicago, Illinois
  • scole21@kent.edu

Patricia Condon, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Digital Archives Consultant, Exeter, N.H., and Adjunct Faculty, Simmons College, Boston, Mass.
  • pcondon1@kent.edu

Laura Creekmore, B.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • President, Creek Content
  • lcreekmo@kent.edu

Jessica A. Curtis, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Adult Services Librarian, Westerville Public Library, Westerville, Ohio
  • jcurtis5@kent.edu

Harold (Keith) Davis, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Community Facilitator, Cyber Center of Excellence (Army)
  • hdavis19@kent.edu

Timothy J. Dickey, M.L.I.S., Ph.D.

Eva Dodsworth

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Geospatial Data Services Librarian and G.C. Coordinator, Geospatial Centre, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • edodswo1@kent.edu

Sean Dolan, M.S., M.L.I.S.

Christina Dorr, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Media Specialist, Hilliard City School District, Hilliard, Ohio
  • cdorr@kent.edu

Magda El-Sherbini

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Associate Professor and Head, Cataloging Department, Library Tech Center, The Ohio State University Columbus, Ohio
  • melsherb@kent.edu

Sofia Empel, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Information Governance Consultant, InfoCentric Strategies, Hasbrouck Heights, N.J.
  • sempel@kent.edu

Joanne Fenn, M.A., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor, Collections Manager/ Museum Registrar, Kent State University Museum, Kent, Ohio
  • jfenn1@kent.edu

NICOLE FERNANDEZ, M.S.

CHRISTINE FOWLER SHEARER

H.C. Neil Ganey, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Research Scientist, Naval Surface Warfare Center - Carderock
  • hganey@kent.edu

Timothy Hackman, M.A., M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Director of User Services and Resource Sharing, University of Maryland Libraries, College Park, Md. 
  • thackman@kent.edu

Martina Haines, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Health Sciences/Distance Education Librarian, Slippery Rock University, Slippery Rock, Pa.
  • mnichol9@kent.edu

Catherine Hakala-Ausperk, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Owner, Libraries Thrive; retired Executive Director, NEO-RLS, Hudson Ohio
  • chakala@kent.edu

Thomas Hayes, M.F.A., M.L.S.

Pamela J. Hickson-Stevenson, M.S.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Deputy Director, Akron-Summit County Public Library, Akron, Ohio
  • phickso1@kent.edu

Sharon Holderman, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Coordinator of Public Services, Angelo and Jennette Volpe Library, Tennessee Technological University, Cookeville, Tenn.
  • sredward@kent.edu

Jason Holmes, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Manager, OpenStax Project, Rice University, Houston, Texas
  • jaholmes@kent.edu

Darren W. Hood, M.S.I.M., M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Manager, UX, Bosch, Warren, Mich.
  • dhood3@kent.edu

REX HUGHES II, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Special Collections Department, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
  • rhughe10@kent.edu

Janna Korzenko, M.L.I.S.

Miriam Kahn, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Library Consultant and Researcher at-large, MBK Consulting, Columbus, Ohio
  • mkahn1@kent.edu

Martha Kyrillidou, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science  
  • Association of Research Libraries
  • mkyrilli@kent.edu

Shari Laster, M.S.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Government Data and Information Librarian, UCSB Library, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • slaster@kent.edu

CHELSEA M. LAWTON, M.S., RHIS

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • System Analyst, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland Ohio
  • clawton2@kent.edu

JOHN LEWIS, ED.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Cofounder, The CoHero Institute
  • jlewis97@kent.edu

Lori Lindberg, M.L.I.S. CA

Josh Line, M.S., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Senior UX Designer, Tobii Dynavox; Principal, Narrativ
  • jline@kent.edu

James Lockshaw, M.B.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • IT Director, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio
  • jlocksha@kent.edu

Deborah Loiacono, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Director, Ida Rupp Public Library, Port Clinton, Ohio
  • dloiacon@kent.edu

JOE MANGANELLI, PH.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Building Design Specialist, Fluor Enterprises Inc., Greenville, S.C.
  • jmangane@kent.edu

Hilary Marsh

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Chief Strategist and President, Content Company, Inc.
  • hmarsh5@kent.edu

Sue Mccleaf Nespeca, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Early Literacy and Children's Literature Consultant, Kid Lit Plus Consulting, Gettysburg, Pa.
  • snespeca@kent.edu

Jenni McKienzie

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Principal Consultant, SpeechUsability
  • jmckienz@kent.edu

Alissa Miller, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Assistant Professor, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  • amill255@kent.edu

Shelly S. Miller, M.L.I.S., MSc., M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Continuing Education Coordinator, OHIONET, Columbus, Ohio
  • smill107@kent.edu

Jeff Mixter, M.L.I.S, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Research Support Specialist, OCLC Research, Dublin, Ohio
  • jmixter@kent.edu

Brian Moon

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Officer, Perigean Technologies LLC
  • bmoon3@kent.edu

Edwin K. Morris, M.S., CKMP

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • President and Founder, Pioneer Knowledge Services (501C3)
  • emorri16@kent.edu

C. Allen Nichols, M.L.S., M.B.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Library Director (retired), Wadsworth Public Library, Wadsworth, Ohio; Executive Director (current), Akron Bar Association
  • cnichol1@kent.edu

Cynthia Orr, M.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • President, Cynthia Orr Consulting,Inc., Editor, ReadersAdvisorOnline.com/blog; Contributing Editor,
    Library Journal
  • corr@kent.edu

Erika Orrick, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Principal User Experience Consultant, Notable Insight, Houston, Texas
  • eorrick@kent.edu

Elizabeth Owens, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Information Management Consultant, OJIN
  • eowens3@kent.edu

Sean Petiya, M.L.I.S., M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Software Development Engineer, Yardi Systems, Cleveland, Ohio
  • spetiya1@kent.edu

ADAM A. POLANSKY

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • UXD Strategist, Bottle Rocket Apps, Dallas, Texas
  • apolans1@kent.edu

Kelsey Pytlik, M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Architect, Frontgate, Cincinnati, Ohio

William j. Robinson

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Director, Global Research and Analysis, Fidelity National Information Services (FIS), Santa Barbara, Calif.
  • wrobins3@kent.edu

Ed Rossman, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Adult Services Librarian, Shaker Heights Public Library, Shaker Heights, Ohio
  • erossman@kent.edu

Rachel G. Rubin, Ph.D.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Director, Bexley Public Library, Bexley, Ohio
  • rgrubin@kent.edu

Angela Schmeidel Randall 

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Principal, Normal Modes LLC
  • arandal5@kent.edu

Katherine Scherrer, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Owner, Connected Communities
  • kscherre@kent.edu

MARY L. SCHULTZ

  • Part-time Instructor
  • Lead Application Analyst, The J.M. Smucker Company
  • mschul11@kent.edu

Andrew Shipka, M.A., M.L.I.S., M.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Lead Educational Technology Designer, Kent State University
  • ashipka@kent.edu

John E. Simmons

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • President, Museologica, Bellefonte, Pa.
  • jsimmo20@kent.edu

Samantha Starmer, M.L.I.S

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • Razorfish Vice President, Customer Experience 
  • sstarmer@kent.edu

Stacy Surla, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Lead, ICF International, Rockville, Md.
  • ssurla@kent.edu

Amber Veverka, M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Learning Resource Center Manager, Fortis College, Ravenna, Ohio
  • amrodrig@kent.edu

Rachel d. von Hendrix, M.S., M.L.I.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, User Experience Design
  • User Experience Designer, Westfield Group, Westfield Center, Ohio
  • rvonhend@kent.edu

Susan Weaver, M.S.L.S.

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Professor of Library and Media Services, Director of Library Services, Kent State University East Liverpool Campus, East Liverpool, Ohio
  • sweaver@kent.edu

Brian Wierman, MBA, M.A.

  • Part-time Instructor, Knowledge Management
  • Management Consulting, Military (reserve Marine Corps major)
  • bwierman@kent.edu

Winter Woolston, M.A., M.L.I.S

  • Part-time Instructor, Library and Information Science
  • Metadata Migration Project Manager, Art Department Visual Resource Center, Kent State University, Kent, Ohio
  • wwoolsto@kent.edu

Paul Ylvisaker, J.D., M.S.N., RN

  • Part-time Instructor, Health Informatics
  • Staff Nurse, Neurology, Banner Health, Tucson, Ariz.
  • pylvisak@kent.edu