University Council on Technology

Agenda

October 18, 2013, Room 307 Student Center 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

- 1. Approval of Minutes.
- 2. Election of Officers for this year.
- 3. Change from Wimba to Collaborate, Preeti Palvankar, Mgr, Information Technology.
- 4. Actions to be taken in response to member issues expressed in last meeting.
- 5. Meeting topics for 2013-2014.
- 6. Member concerns (specific issues members have or have been asked to bring to UCT).

2013-2014 Tentative Meeting Dates, Room, Time, Theme

- 1. September 13, 2013, 307 Student Center, 2pm-4pm: Elections and Schedule Planning
- 2. October 18, 2013, 307 Student Center, 2pm-4pm: Elections, Collaborate, Scantron Survey
- 3. November 15, 2013, 307 Student Center, 2pm-4pm: agenda to be announced.
- 4. December 20, 2013, 304 Student Center, 2pm-4pm: agenda to be announced.
- 5. January 17, 2014, 304 Student Center, 2pm-4pm: agenda to be announced.
- 6. February 21, 2014, 304 Student Center, 2pm-4pm: agenda to be announced.
- 7. March 21, 2014, 304 Student Center, 2pm-4pm: agenda to be announced.
- 8. May 16, 2014, 304 Student Center, 2pm-4pm: agenda to be announced.

2013-2014 UCT Priorities

- 1. Technology for new modes of testing. Remaining needs for older testing paradigms.
- 2. Technological support for mobile devices in teaching and research.
- 3. Distance learning issues and support for synchronous remote teaching.
- 4. Investigate how to add "sponsored links" to the search engine to directed students and staff to important web pages.
- 5. Information Services upcoming major projects.
- 6. Coordinate with the University Teaching Council.

University Council on Technology Standing Membership

The University Council on Technology consists of the following (or their designee)

- 1. Provost (ex-officio). (Provost Todd Diacon,tdiacon@kent.edu; Jarrod Tutor, jtudor@kent.edu)
- 2. Vice-President for Information Services (ex-officio). (Mahon, Edward G, emahon@kent.edu)
- 3. Director of Faculty Professional Development (ex-officio) (Dees, David M ,ddees@kent.edu; Dalton, Eve M, edalton@kent.edu)
- 4. Director of Educational Technology (ex-officio) (Albert, Paul, palbert@kent.edu)
- 5. Dean University Libraries (Bracken, James K, ibracke1@kent.edu; Tom Klingler, tk@kent.edu)
- 6. One (1) collegiate member of each of the colleges, these currently are
 - a) College of Applied Engineering, Sustainability and Technology(Boyd, Darwin L, dboyd@kent.edu)
 - b) College of Architecture and Environmental Design (Steidl, Douglas L, dsteidl@kent.edu)
 - c) College of the Arts. (Crawford, John, jcrawfo1@kent.edu)
 - d) College of Arts & Science (Blank, James L, jblank@kent.edu)
 - e) College of Business Administration (Spake, Deborah F ,dspake@kent.edu)
 - f) College of Education, Health and Human Services (Mahony, Daniel, dmahony@kent.edu; Near Aaron, G, anear@kent.edu)
 - g) College of Nursing (Stocker, Susan J, sjstocke@kent.edu)
 - h) College of Communication and Information (Wearden Stan, swearden@kent.edu; Tran Rose,rmtran@kent.edu; Bussey, Mark, mbussey1.kent.edu)
 - i) College of Public Health (Alemagno, Sonia, salemagn@kent.edu)
 - j) Regional College, Dean (Thomas, Wanda E, wthomas4@kent.edu)

Deans will consult with the appropriate academic advisory committee for their unit.

- 7. One representative from each of
 - a) Regional Campuses, Dean (Thomas, Wanda E, <u>wthomas4@kent.edu</u>; Marshal, Shelley K, skmarsha@kent.edu)
 - b) Office of Continuing and Distance Education, Director (Huntsman, Deborah, dhuntsm1@kent.edu; Piatt. Jason, jpiatt@kent.edu)
 - c) Research and Sponsored Programs, VP (McGimpsey, William G, wmcgimps@kent.edu)
 - d) Graduate Studies, Dean (Stephens, Mary P, mstephen@kent.edu; Cooney, James, jcooney5@kent.edu; Tran Rose, rmtran@kent.edu)
 - e) Undergraduate Studies, Dean(Pringle, Eboni J,epringle@kent.edu; Tran Rose,rmtran@kent.edu)
- 8. Five (5) faculty members representing the faculty at large are appointed by the Chair of Faculty Senate upon the recommendation of the Committee on Committees. By the same process, three (3) faculty members will also be designated as alternates.)(Ding, Kele,kding@kent.edu;Rilling, Sarah E, srilling@kent.edu;Tietz, Wendy,wtietz@kent.edu; Bakes, Catherine M, cbakes@kent.edu;Rothstein, Michael, rothstei@cs.kent.edu; Alternates:Blundell, Greg E;Farrell, Paul A; Robinson, Carol L)
- 9. One (1) member representing Business and Finance appointed by the Vice President for Finance and Administration. (Floyd, Gregg S, gfloyd@kent.edu)
- 10. One (1) member representing Enrollment Management and Student affairs appointed by the Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs. (Jarvie, Gregory I, gjarvie@kent.edu)
- 11. One (1) member representing University Relations appointed by the Vice President for University Relations. (Harvey, Iris E, iharvey1@kent.edu)
- 12. One (1) member representing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion appointed by the Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. (Brown, Alfreda, abbrown@kent.edu)
- 13. One (1) member representing Human Resources appointed by the Vice President for Human Resources. (Vitale, Joseph S Jr, jvitale1@kent.edu)
- 14. One (1) member representing Institutional Advancement appointed by the Vice President for Institutional Advancement. (Finn, Eugene J, gfinn@kent.edu)

- 15. One (1) graduate student representative appointed by the Graduate Student Senate. (Heffner, Jessica, jheffner@kent.edu)
- 16. One (1) undergraduate student representative appointed by the Undergraduate Student Senate. (uss@kent.edu)