## University Council on Technology Agenda November 20, 2015 \$ 2:00-4:00 pm \$ 318 Kent Student Center

- 1. Approval of Minutes
- 2. Update on IS Projects Jay Frye
- 3. Update on FlashFolio Project Shelley Marshall
- 4. Need new Chair for Clicker Sub-Committee
- 5. Sub-committee Updates
- 6. Member Concerns/New Business

## 2015-2016 UCT Priorities

- 1. Communicate committee work across the university.
- 2. Evaluate and recommend technology for new modes of testing.
  - a. Identify remaining needs for older testing paradigms.
  - b. Evaluate hardware and software solutions.
  - c. Scantron.
  - d. Coordinate with UTC.
  - e. Develop recommendations for Provost.
- 3. Transferring grades from Blackboard to Banner.
  - a. Identify the status of the project and work with IS to implement.
- 4. Evaluate mobile devices in teaching and research (ongoing).
- 5. Determine Faculty research needs using surveys.
  - a. Develop a recommendation to IS through Paul Albert.
- 6. Software licensing Inventory, Support, and Legal Issues.
  - a. Subcommittee will evaluate issues and possible solutions and report to committee.
- 7. Evaluate clicker technologies.
  - a. Subcommittee will evaluate solutions including web-based technology.
  - b. Subcommittee will develop recommendations and guidance on available technology.
- 8. Distance learning issues and support for synchronous remote teaching
- 9. Information Services upcoming major projects.
- 10. Coordinate with the University Teaching Council and University Research Council.

Date			Location
Sept. 17, 2015 Canceled	2:00 p.m.	4:00 p.m.	KSC 318
Oct. 15, 2015	2:00 p.m.	4:00 p.m.	KSC 318
Nov. 20, 2015	2:00 p.m.	4:00 p.m.	KSC 318
Dec. 18, 2015 Canceled	2:00 p.m.	4:00 p.m.	KSC 318
Feb. 19, 2016	2:00 p.m.	4:00 p.m.	KSC 318
March 18, 2016	2:00 p.m.	4:00 p.m.	KSC 318
April 15, 2016	2:00 p.m.	4:00 p.m.	KSC 318

## 2015-2016 Meeting Dates

## University Council on Technology Standing Membership

The University Council on Technology consists of the following (or their designee):

- Chair: Shelley Marshall, skmarsha@kent.edu; Vice-Chair: Arden Ruttan, ruttan@cs.kent.edu
- Provost (ex-officio): Provost Todd Diacon, tdiacon@kent.edu; Jarrod Tutor, jtudor@kent.edu
- Vice-President for Information Services (ex-officio): Edward Mahon, emahon@kent.edu
- Director of Faculty Professional Development (ex-officio): David Dees, ddees@kent.edu; Eve Dalton, edalton@kent.edu
- Director of Educational Technology (ex-officio): Paul Albert, palbert@kent.edu
- Dean University Libraries: James Bracken, jbracke1@kent.edu; Tom Klingler, tk@kent.edu
- One (1) collegiate member of each of the colleges:
  - College of Applied Engineering, Sustainability and Technology: Brian Gardner, btgardne@kent.edu
  - College of Architecture and Environmental Design: Douglas Steidl, dsteidl@kent.edu
  - College of the Arts: John Crawford, jcrawfo1@kent.edu
  - College of Arts & Science: David Kaplan, dkaplan@kent.edu; Clarke Earley, cearley@kent.edu
  - College of Business Administration: Wendy Tietz, wtietz@kent.edu
  - College of Education, Health and Human Services: Karl Kosko, kkosko1@kent.edu
  - College of Nursing: Aaron Near, anear@kent.edu
  - College of Communication and Information: Susan Zake, szake@kent.edu
  - College of Public Health: Sasi Benzigar, sbenziga@kent.edu
  - Regional College, Dean: Wanda Thomas, wthomas4@kent.edu
  - College of Podiatric Medicine: Jill Kawalec, jkawale2@kent.edu
  - College of Fashion Design & Merchandising: Margarita Benitez, mbenitez@kent.edu
- Deans will consult with the appropriate academic advisory committee for their unit.
  - 1. One representative from each of
    - Regional Campuses, Dean: Will Ward, wward@kent.edu; Hongshan Li, hli@kent.edu
    - Office of Continuing and Distance Education, Director: **Deborah Huntsman, dhuntsm1@kent.edu**; **William Turek, wturek@kent.edu**
    - Research and Sponsored Programs, VP: Grant McGimpsey, wmcgimps@kent.edu
    - Graduate Studies, Dean: Mary Stephens, mstephen@kent.edu; Melody Tankersley, mtankers@kent.edu
      - Undergraduate Studies, Dean: Eboni Pringle, epringle@kent.edu; Rose Tran, rmtran@kent.edu
  - 2. Five (5) faculty members representing the faculty at large are appointed by the Chair of Faculty Senate upon the recommendation of the Committee on Committees. By the same process, three (3) faculty members will also be designated as alternates.)
    - a. Kele Ding, kding@kent.edu; Sarah Rilling, srilling@kent.edu; Catherine Bakes, cbakes@kent.edu; Michael Rothstein, rothstei@cs.kent.edu
    - b. Alternates: Greg Blundell, gblundel@kent.edu; Paul Farrell, pfarrell@kent.edu; Carol Robinson, clrobins@kent.edu
  - 3. One (1) member representing Business and Finance appointed by the Vice President for Finance and Administration: Mark Polatajko (on Jan. 1, 2016)
  - 4. One (1) member representing Enrollment Management and Student affairs appointed by the Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs: **David Garcia, tgarcia5@kent.edu**
  - 5. One (1) member representing University Relations appointed by the Vice President for University Relations: Iris Harvey, iharvey1@kent.edu
  - 6. One (1) member representing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion appointed by the Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Alfreda Brown, abbrown@kent.edu
  - 7. One (1) member representing Human Resources appointed by the Vice President for Human Resources: Willis Walker, wwalker@kent.edu
  - 8. One (1) member representing Institutional Advancement appointed by the Vice President for Institutional Advancement: Jeffery McLain, jmclain3@kent.edu
  - 9. One (1) graduate student representative appointed by the Graduate Student Senate: Jessica Heffner, jheffner@kent.edu
- 10. One (1) undergraduate student representative appointed by the Undergraduate Student Senate (no active email).