Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).


Biotechnology students are encouraged to apply for scholarship support through the Chose Ohio First program.  Choose Ohio First

Kent State University Choose Ohio First ---  The Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program provides scholarship support to Ohio residents who wish to pursue degrees in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, or medicine (STEMM).  The state of Ohio, recognizing that a workforce trained in these areas is essential for strengthening our economy, has created this program to provide tuition support to Ohio residents pursuing STEMM degrees

The scholarships offered through this Kent State University COFS Program are for students to use to attend Kent State University in order to pursue degrees in biotechnology and the biomedical sciences. Click here for application information.

Biotechnology Program Director:

Dr. Douglas Kline
Phone: 330 672-3810

Program in Biotechnology

The Biotechnology program is designed to provide a strong academic foundation in biological sciences and chemistry, training in the various biotechnologies, and a solid understanding of their application in industry and biomedicine.
The science of biotechnology extends across many areas of biology and chemistry and provides cutting-edge technology tools for modern biology and biomedical research.

Biotechnology utilizes living cells and cellular materials to create  pharmaceutical, diagnostic, agricultural, environmental, and other products to benefit society. It is also used to study and to alter genetic information in animals so that human diseases can be modeled and studied.  

Biotechnology is both a basic and an applied science. These technologies are applied in agriculture, health care, forensics, industrial processing, and environmental management in many useful ways.

 Dr. and Mrs. Robert W. Squires Scholarships for 2013-2014 have been awarded to Addison Spriggs and Nolan Brown. The award recognizes outstanding academic scholarship and research efforts by students who are majoring in Biotechnology.  Congratulations!