Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Faculty and Staff

The faculty in the Department of Biological Sciences teach and conduct research on the Kent campus and seven regional campuses.

Kent Campus Faculty

Darren L. Bade
Assistant Professor
dbade@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-4639
Cunningham Hall Rm 119

Organismal A-G

Christopher Blackwood
Associate Professor
cblackwo@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3895
Cunningham Hall
Heather Caldwell
Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator
Gemma Casadesus Smith
Associate Professor
gcasades@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3613
Andrea L. Case
Associate Professor
acase@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3699
245 Cunningham Hall
Chi-hua Chiu
Assistant Professor
cchiu5@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-5972
Wen-Hai Chou
Assistant Professor
wchou2@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2993
Wilson Chung
Assistant Professor
wchung@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3641
Room 53
By appointment.
Robert J. Clements
Sr Research Scientist and Part Time Faculty
rclement@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2984
David Costello
Assistant Professor
dcostel3@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2035
17 Cunningham Hall
Derek Damron
Professor
ddamron@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3370
Kent State University
Ferenc A. de Szalay
Associate Professor
fdeszala@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-7936
205 Cunningham Hall
Robert V. Dorman
Professor
rdorman@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2263
112 Cunningham Hall
Gail C. Fraizer
Associate Professor
gfraizer@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-1398
Cunningham Hall Rm 251

Email for appointments

office hours Monday Friday 10AM to Noon

J. David Glass
Professor
jglass@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2934
211 Cunningham Hall

email:  jglass@kent.edu

voice: 330 672-2934

Brian Grafton
Non-Tenure Track Assistant Professor
bgrafton@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2935
W. Randolph Hoeh
Associate Professor
whoeh@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-9573
John Johnson
Associate Professor
jjohns72@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3849
Mark W. Kershner
Associate Professor
mkershne@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2738
Cunningham Hall
Min-Ho Kim
Assistant Professor
mkim15@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-1445
Cunningham Hall
Douglas W. Kline
Professor
dkline@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3810
Edgar Kooijman
Assistant Professor
ekooijma@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-8568
Gary Koski
Associate Professor
gkoski@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3614
Adam A. Leff
Associate Professor
aleff@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-8369
Laura G. Leff
Professor and Acting Chair
lleff@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3788
052 Cunningham Hall
Patrick D. Lorch
Assistant Professor
plorch@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-7888
F2013: TR 1-2:30, W 2-3:30
Brian Lutz
Assistant Professor
blutz6@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-9394
PO Box 5190
Christopher Malcuit
Assistant Professor
cmalcuit@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3428
Cunningham Hall
M/TR: 10am-12pm
Jennifer L. Marcinkiewicz
Associate Professor
jmarcink@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-5554
259 Cunningham Hall
Jennifer McDonough
Assistant Professor
jmcdonou@kent.edu
Phone: 330-896-9625
Eric M. Mintz
Associate Professor and Director, School of Biomedical Sciences
emintz@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3847
Cunningham Hall
Michael A. Model
Research Assistant Professor
mmodel@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-0774
Xiaozhen Mou
Assistant Professor and MA Coordinator
xmou@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3625
Colleen M. Novak
Assistant Professor
cnovak13@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2304

8:00-9:00 AM, Monday through Friday

Helen Piontkivska
Associate Professor
opiontki@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3620
Oscar Rocha
Associate Professor
orocha@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2297
Gregory Tinkler
Assistant Professor
gtinkler@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3613
PO Box 5190
Sarah Vash
Non-Tenure Track Associate Lecturer
srvash@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3617
Sean Veney
Associate Professor
sveney@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3325
26 Cunningham Hall
Srinivasan Vijayaraghavan
Professor
svijayar@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-9598
Kristy Welshhans
Assistant Professor
kwelshha@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2957
Office: 27 Cunningham Hall

Kent Campus Staff

James L. Blank
Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
jblank@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-8961
Administrative Clerk
Cunningham Hall
Administrative Assistant
Stockroom Assistant
Academic Advisor II
gkovach@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2984
131 Cunningham Hall
Mgr, Lab Animal Resources
mmoser2@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-3653
Cunningham Hall
Mgr, Information Technology
esancakt@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-5268
Cunningham Hall Annex
Administrative Secretary
djwarner@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2819
Laboratory Animal Technician
rwarren@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2575
256 Cunningham Hall
Business Manager
rwise@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-8306
256 Cunningham Hall

Adjuncts

  • Ronald L. Salisbury, Associate Professor
  • Randall J. Mitchell, Associate Professor
  • Stephen C. Weeks, Professor
  • Kurt Smemo, Research Scienist

Postdocs:

Biology Graduate Students

Name Advisor Email
Adhikari, Binaya Case badhika1@kent.edu
Akins, Leighannah Leff, L. lakins1@kent.edu
Al-Adlaan, Asaad TBD aaladlaa@kent.edu
Al-Bagdadi, Osamah Geldenhuys oalbaghd@kent.edu
Al-Khfajy, Wrood Zhang walkhfaj@kent.edu
Alkhayer, Kholoud McDonough kalkhaye@kent.edu
Almundarij, Tariq Novak talmunda@kent.edu
Amicarelli, Mario Glass mamicare@kent.edu
Andrei, Spencer TBD sandrei2@kent.edu
Atkinson, Jeffrey TBD jatkin13@kent.edu
Attarhaie Tehrani, Mahtab Veney mattarha@kent.edu
Awaja, Nidaa Vijay nawaja@kent.edu
Basto-Johnston, G. Patricia L.Leff gjohnst4@kent.edu
Bemiller, Shane TBD sbemille@kent.edu
Bhatta, Sabina Baltan sbhatta@kent.edu
Bhattacharjee, Rahul Vijay rbhatta3@kent.edu
Blair, Jeffrey Casadesus Smith jblair12@kent.edu
Brown, Andrew Howe abrow129@kent.edu
Burgett, Monica Gladson mburget1@kent.edu
Camp, Robert Johnson rcamp@kent.edu
Cappelli, Holly Thodeti hcappell@kent.edu
Chatterjee, Payel Almasan pchatter@kent.edu
Chattopadyay, Suhana Blackwood schatto3@kent.edu
Clark, Nivedita Blackwood nclark16@kent.edu
Cooperrider, Jessica Machado jcoope35@kent.edu
Corella, Kristina Chung kcorella@kent.edu
Coughlin, Lucy Mdzina... lcoughl1@kent.edu
Curry, Rebecca TBD rcurry3@kent.edu
Davis, Shawn Kline sadavis3@kent.edu
De, Santanu Kline sde1@kent.edu
Detwiler, Ariana Kline adetwil4@kent.edu
DiSano, Krista Bergman kdisano@kent.edu
DiVincenzo, Lola TBD ldivince@kent.edu
Drake, Summer Thewissen sdrake6@kent.edu
Dudiki, Tejasvi Vijay tdudiki@kent.edu
Edler, Melissa Caldwell medler@kent.edu
Fealy, Ciaran Kirwan cfealy@kent.edu
Fechter, Rebeccah TBD rfechter@kent.edu
Formica, Shane TBD sformic1@kent.edu
Foster, Nichole Schofield nbeebe@kent.edu
Freeman, Angela Caldwell afreem16@kent.edu
Gacura, Matthew Blackwood mgacura@kent.edu
Gadziola, Marie Wenstrup mgadziol@kent.edu
(Gaglione) Surace, Margaret Bade mgaglio2@kent.edu
Ganguly, Rituparna Raman rgangul2@kent.edu
Gavini, Chaitanya Novak cgavini@kent.edu
Geriak, Adam Lutz ageriak@kent.edu
Ghasemahmed, Zahra Wenstrup zghasema@kent.edu
Goswami, Suranjana Vijay sgoswam1@kent.edu
Gray, Jonathan Leff, L. jgray39@kent.edu
Guo, Xiao Glass xguo8@kent.edu
Halpin, Mary Piontkivska mhalpin2@kent.edu
Hamlet, Will Lu whamlet@kent.edu
Han, Xiqian Chou xhan5@kent.edu
Heemstra, Lydia Novak lheemstr@kent.edu
Hendrickson, Megan Trapp mhendr11@kent.edu
Henthorn, Eric Raghanti ehenthor@kent.edu
Hetti Arachchilage, Madara Piontkivska mhettiar@kent.edu
Hiripitiyage, Yasawantha Leff, L. yhiripit@kent.edu
Hopson, Adrienne de Szalay ahopson2@kent.edu
Horton, Dean Blackwood dhorton3@kent.edu
Houston, Sara Freeman shousto3@kent.edu
Huang, Chi Koski chuang15@kent.edu
Iffland, Phil Janigro piffland@kent.edu
Ionadi, Amy Novak aionadi@kent.edu
Jadhav, Kavita TBD kjadhav@kent.edu
Jain, Shruti Welshhans sjain6@kent.edu
Janota, Danielle Yun dspeich1@kent.edu
Johnson, Deshawn de Szalay djohns28@kent.edu
Kershner, Leah Welshhans lkershn1@kent.edu
Klein, Amanda Sivarmakrishnan aklein12@kent.edu
Kmetz, John Meszaros jkmetz@kent.edu
Krieger, Jessica Malcuit jkrieger@kent.edu
Krishnan, Anjali   akrishn5@kent.edu
Kumar, Varun Chou vkumar1@kent.edu
Lancaster, Terry Thewissen tlancas1@kent.edu
Lensie, Jessica Mintz jlensie@kent.edu
Link, Laura Howe llink4@kent.edu
Longenecker, Ryan Galazyuk rlongene@kent.edu
Luther, Daniel Meszaros dluther@kent.edu
Lv, Xinxin Mou xlv@kent.edu
Madhuri, Sumeda Mou smadhuri@kent.edu
Marcum, Douglas Rocha dmarcum2@kent.edu
Mbimba, Thomas Safadi tmbimba@kent.edu
Miller, Travis Caldwell tmill114@kent.edu
Morgan, Brendan de Szalay bmorgan1@kent.edu
Moussa, Fouad Safadi fmoussa@kent.edu
Mukherjee, Sromona Novak smukher2@kent.edu
Muller-Greven, Gaelle Gladson gmuller1@kent.edu
Murphy, Jessica Mintz jamurph4@kent.edu
Namjoshi, Prachi Koski pnamjosh@kent.edu
Nemes, Ashley Najm anemes1@kent.edu
Nissel, Kristine Blackwood knissel@kent.edu
Nusair, Ghada Mintz gnusair@kent.edu
Odhar, Hasanain Bhatia hodhar@kent.edu
Ormiston, Anna Mou aormisto@kent.edu
Pandey, Sony Fraizer spandey1@kent.edu
Patrick, Sarah BMS spatric6@kent.edu
Paul, Reeba Piontkivska rpaul7@kent.edu
Payne, Heather TBD hpayne1@kent.edu
Perju, Catalin Weil cperju@kent.edu
Prudner, Bethany Damron bprudner@kent.edu
Putta, Priya Kooijman pputta@kent.edu
Qadan, Maha Muschler mqadan@kent.edu
Rathnayake, Sewwandi Kooijman srathnay@kent.edu
Redfearn, James Woolverton jredfear@kent.edu
Remus, Jennifer Johnson jremus@kent.edu
Ren, Pei Renn Chen pren@kent.edu
Rich, Megan Caldwell mrich7@kent.edu
Roberto, Alescia Leff L. arober52@kent.edu
Roth, Cali Lorch croth3@kent.edu
Ruth, Aidan Lovejoy aruth1@kent.edu
Sahu, Soumyadip Raman ssahu@kent.edu
Schoeneman, Ryan Bade rschoen3@kent.edu
Sen, Sabyasachi Vijay ssen1@kent.edu
Sensor, Jennifer Thewissen jsensor@kent.edu
Shi, Qiwen Bhatia qshi@kent.edu
Showalter, Loral Koski lshowal1@kent.edu
Shubbar, Ahmed Jones ashubbar@kent.edu
Shukla, Charu Novak cshukla@kent.edu
Siegel, Nicole TBD nsiegel1@kent.edu
Sinha Roy, Pritam Damron psinharo@kent.edu
Smyers, Mark Novak msmyers1@kent.edu
Sondag, Gregory Safadi gsondag@kent.edu
Stinnett, Hilary Safadi hstinnet@kent.edu
Stowie, Adam Glass astowie@kent.edu
Tamborski, Steven Caldwell stambors@kent.edu
Taura, Joseph Leff L. jtaura1@kent.edu
Thoppil, Roslin Thodeti rthoppil@kent.edu
Wang, Guona Chou gwang7@kent.edu
Wilson, Gina TBD gwilso12@kent.edu
Witchey, Shannah Caldwell switchey@kent.edu
Wu, Haiwa Fraizer hwu10@kent.edu
Xu, Guangqin Mou gxu3@kent.edu
Xu, Jiesi TBD jxu10@kent.edu