Fashion School

Kent State University’s Fashion School will host the third annual Fashion/Tech Hackathon from Friday, Jan. 29, to Sunday, Jan. 31, in Rockwell Hall.

The Fashion School at Kent State University will host the third annual Fashion/Tech Hackathon from Friday, January 29 to Sunday, January 31 in Rockwell Hall. The Hackathon is a cross-curricular event allowing teams of student participants to create and innovate within the realm of wearable technology. It is presented in partnership with the Fashion School’s TechStyleLAB and Kent State’s LaunchNET (formerly Blackstone LaunchPad).

The Fashion School at Kent State University is at the forefront of knitwear design technology with its recent purchase of an industrial knitting machine.

The Stoll CMS ADF-3 multi-gauge knitting machine is capable of carrying 32 different yarns independently. Kent State University is the first fashion institution in the U.S. to acquire this top-of-the-line design and production tool, which the German manufacturer unveiled in 2013.


The Kent State University Fashion School gets a lot of requests for their world-renowned designs and high-tech creations, but an old-fashioned letter that arrived in the mail on Sept. 10, 2015, contained a request unlike anything they had ever received.

It came from a sixth grader named Karla who attends the AVID College Preparatory program in Perris, California.

Your favorite movie or video might soon help accessorize your wardrobe thanks to Margarita Benitez, assistant professor in Kent State University’s School of Fashion Design and Merchandising.



The Shannon Rodgers and Jerry Silverman School of Fashion Design and Merchandising at Kent State University held its Annual Fashion Show on April 24 and 25 at the school’s Rockwell Hall location. The 2015 show, dubbed “FS2: Visionnaire,” featured 17 collections and 55 individual looks created by 58 student designers. That sizable body of work spanned eveningwear, casualwear and sportswear, with a special category for sustainable production. There also were menswear, childrenswear and juniors collections.