Notable Casting Director Tapped for Media Distinguished Leadership Award

Kate O’Brian, president of Al Jazeera America, has been named the 2015 winner of the Robert G. McGruder Distinguished Guest Lecture and Award for Diversity by the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University. The award recognizes the accomplishments of media professionals who encourage diversity in the field of journalism.

Join us for a screening of the 2014 documentary "A Fragile Trust: Power, Plagiarism and Jayson Blair at the New York Times" on March 10, at 6:30 p.m. in the Franklin Hall First Energy Auditorium (Room 340). 


The structure for evaluating and accrediting journalism and mass communication programs was established in 1945, when the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACEJMC) was formed. ACEJMC is the agency formally recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) for accrediting programs for professional education in journalism and mass communications in institutions of higher learning.

JMC recognizes the financial burden of obtaining a college education and strives to help offset costs for students. Through our various scholarship programs, we recognize and reward students with high academic excellence, evidence of leadership and community service. Scholarship awards are made possible by generous donations from alumni and friends of the School, and these contributions benefit students in their academic pursuits. In 2014, JMC awarded a record-setting $65,000 in scholarships.

72-Hour Requirement

The Kent State University School of Journalism and Mass Communication is accredited by ACEJMC, The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications.  This means we meet high standards regarding our facility, our faculty and our program of study.  Accreditation brings prestige along with some rules and regulations.   

Ohio Scholastic Media Association Scholarship

Kent State University and its Center for Scholastic Journalism are the home of the Ohio Scholastic Media Association, the state’s only high school press association.  Each year, OSMA hosts conferences and conventions and runs competitions to support, train and recognize high school journalists around the state.  For more information on OSMA and to explore how your school can become a member, see the organization’s website:

Professor David LaBelle and a group of five photojournalism students traveled to Kingsport, Tenn., on Nov. 22 to capture images and record footage of the Santa Train, the world’s largest Santa parade.

Brave New Films will screen its newest documentary, “Unmanned: America’s Drone Wars,” at Kent State University Thursday, Nov. 20, 2014.

The organization is a champion for social justice issues, educating the public through screenings of its six feature films. Including more than 70 interviews, “Unmanned” shows the personal impact of the use of drones in the War on Terror.

Kent State University’s College of Arts and Sciences will co-host a lecture, “Covering the Egyptian Uprising,” by Sharif Abdel Kouddous on Nov. 7 at 6:30 p.m. in the Kent Student Center Kiva on the Kent Campus. Visitor parking is available in the Kent Student Center visitor lot on Summit Street. The night before, on Nov. 6, Kouddous will lead a conversation about the Middle East that is co-sponsored by the City Club of Cleveland at The Happy Dog, located at 5801 Detroit Ave. in Cleveland, at 7:30 p.m. Both events are free and open to the public.