Kent State Announces Recipients of the 2020 Alumni Awards

The Kent State University Alumni Association is proud to announce its 2020 Alumni Award recipients. These awards honor alumni who, through leadership, character and hard work, have made exceptional contributions in their chosen profession, in their communities and at Kent State University. The Alumni Awards are the university’s most prestigious honors given to alumni. 

“It is always difficult to select recipients for these awards,” said Lori Randorf, assistant vice president of alumni relations at Kent State. “We receive many qualified nominations, which speaks volumes to the talent and character of Kent State University graduates.”

The following alumni and current student are being recognized in each of the six award categories:

Distinguished Alumni Award - Judge Annalisa Stubbs Williams, ’77
Distinguished Citizen Award - Nicholas E. Phillips, ’70
Professional Achievement Award - Timothy F. Feltes, MD, ’77
Professional Achievement Award - Terese Volk Tuohey, Ph.D. ’93
Kent State Advocacy Award - Stephanie Sweany, ’05
Outstanding New Professional Award - Justin Rudy Gleason, ’16, MBA ’18, M.Arch ’18
Golden Flash Award - Kayla Marker, ’21, MPH ’22

In order to adhere to university precautions surrounding COVID-19, the plans to celebrate this year’s recipients are still being finalized. The alumni association will share information regarding any programming and initiatives to honor Alumni Award recipients as it becomes available.

For more information or to submit an award nomination for next year, visit

POSTED: Thursday, June 25, 2020 - 1:54pm
UPDATED: Tuesday, October 6, 2020 - 3:16pm