Kent State Alumni Association Announces 2018 Annual Distinguished Teaching Award Finalists

The Kent State University Alumni Association has chosen 10 finalists from a pool of more than 200 nominees for the 52nd annual Kent State Alumni Association Distinguished Teaching Award.

The finalists will be narrowed down to three, and those recipients will be awarded a $1,500 cash prize and a crystal apple trophy. The three award recipients also will be honored at the University Teaching Council’s Celebrating College Teaching conference luncheon and awards ceremony on Friday, Oct. 19.

The Kent State Alumni Association recognizes Kent State faculty members with this award annually. The Distinguished Teaching Award is the most esteemed honor that Kent State grants to full-time, tenure-track faculty members. In order to be nominated, faculty members must have been employed at the university for at least seven years and be in a tenured or tenure-track position.

This year's finalists are:

  • Mikhail Chebotar, Mathematical Sciences, Kent Campus
  • Julie K. Cremeans-Smith, Psychological Sciences, Stark Campus
  • Richard Devore, Music, Kent Campus
  • Radd Ehrman, Modern and Classical Languages, Kent Campus
  • Christopher J. Fenk, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Kent Campus
  • David H. Kaplan, Geography, Kent Campus
  • Bradley Keefer, History, Ashtabula Campus
  • Janice Lessman-Moss, Art, Kent Campus
  • Kristine Pytash, Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Studies, Kent Campus
  • Lori G. Wilfong, Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Studies, Stark Campus


Learn more about the Distinguished Teaching Award

POSTED: Thursday, October 11, 2018 01:05 PM
UPDATED: Saturday, May 18, 2024 02:52 PM
Erica Fowler