Theresa L. Sharp, Department of Mathematical Sciences

Theresa L. Sharp, Department of Mathematical Sciences, was presented with the Christofferson-Fawcett Award for “lifetime contribution to mathematics education. Steve Meiring, a retired Ohio Department of Education mathematics consultant, presented the award to Sharp at the Ohio Council of Teachers of Mathematics Annual Conference in Cincinnati, Ohio, on Oct. 15, 2015.

Additional Comments: The Christofferson-Fawcett Award recognizes teaching excellence, service to the mathematics community and leadership within that community. The annual award, first presented in 1981 to Kenneth Cummins (now deceased), who served in Kent State’s Department of Mathematical Sciences, is named for two giants in Ohio’s rich history of mathematics teaching and learning: Harold P. Fawcett and Halbert C. Christofferson.