Fall 2016: 1960s


Janet Snyder Matthews, BS, Sarasota, Fla., received the Senator Bob Williams Award from Florida Secretary of State Ken Detzner in May. The award recognizes one public employee each year who has provided exceptional service in historic preservation in the state. Matthews served as the National Park Service’s associate director for cultural resources in Washington, D.C. from 2004-2009. She currently teaches at the University of Florida as the associate scholar in the university’s historic preservation program.


Alumni Association MemberStephen Hanzely, BS, Youngstown, Ohio, received Youngstown State University’s Heritage Award, which recognizes former faculty and professional/administrative staff who have made major contributions to the university during their years of service.


Thomas Lower, BS, Mentor, Ohio, was the first recipient of Kent State’s G. Harry Wright Scholarship Award for excellence in theatre in 1966. He went on to earn a master’s degree in speech/theatre from DePauw University, and he was the chair of the Speech and Theatre Department at Lakeland Community College from 1968 to 1995. He continues to teach at Lakeland Community College, Lake Erie College, Palm Beach State and Broward College.


Peter Foley, BS, Framingham, Mass., recently was selected to serve a third term on the National Federation of State High School Associations’ Swimming and Diving Rules Committee. Foley retired from Weston High School (Mass.) in 2007, where he served as athletic director for 26 years and swimming coach for 35 years.