Two Kent State Professors Receive Farris Family Innovation Awards

Two Kent State faculty members have been awarded the Farris Family Innovation Award for their research projects.

Aaron Jasnow, Ph.D., of the Department of Psychology, received the award for his project titled “Understanding Emotion: From Molecules to Mind.” Melissa Zullo, Ph.D., of the College of Public Health, was awarded for her project titled “Quality Improvement Initiatives in the Gynecology Robotic Operating Room.”

The Farris Family Innovation Award rewards faculty members who combine scholarship of teaching, discovery and application in new and effective ways. After recommendations by the provost, applicants are reviewed by the Provost's Advisory Council and then sent to the president for final approval.

Winners of the award each receive up to $8,000 for up to three years. The money from this grant covers expenses in undergraduate research, graduate student stipends, equipment expenses and travel associated with faculty projects.

For more information on how to apply for next year's Farris Family Innovation Award, visit

POSTED: Monday, April 23, 2012 - 11:00am
UPDATED: Thursday, February 20, 2020 - 1:54pm
College of Public Health