External Advisory Committee

The committee aims to provide meaningful and extensive discussion with public health employers and community leaders from the non-profit, public and private sectors on the critical skills necessary for today's public health professionals, and on how the college can better integrate these skills into its academic programs and training opportunities. The committee assists the college in forecasting future academic needs and gauging professional readiness, thus providing the public health field with a valuable workforce of competitive and skilled graduates. The responsibilities of the External Advisory Committee are to:

  • Advise the dean and the College on any matters related to strategic decisions.
  • Assist the College in connecting with external constituencies to advance the mission of the college.
  • Identify opportunities for research collaborations and financial sustainability.
  • Advise the college in understanding how the needs of employers can be met by the talent, skills and knowledge of the Kent State University College of Public Health graduates.

Committee Members

John R. Aller

John Aller is the chief executive director of Stark County Mental Health and Addiction Recovery (StarkMHAR).


Tarun Bhalla, MD, MBA, FASA, FAAP

Dr. Tarun Bhalla chairs the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine at Akron Children's Hospital. 

Click here to read more.

Bill Benoit

Bill Benoit is the president of University Hospitals (UH) Portage Medical Center. He joined UH as vice president of Rehabilitation Services for the health system.

Click here to read more.

Allan M. Boike, DPM, FACFAS

Dr. Allan Boike is the dean of Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine (KSUCPM). 

Click here to read more.


Alec Boros, PhD

Dr. Alec Boros is the research manager at Oriana House, Inc. He directs all the research and evaluation efforts of the agency.

Click here to read more.


Joseph Diorio, RS, MS, MPH

Joseph Diorio is the commissioner for Portage County Health District. 

Click here to read more.


Jennifer Eaton, PhD, CHRC

Dr. Jennifer Eaton is the vice president for Research, Sponsored Programs & Innovation at Summa Health System.

Click here to read more.

Marguerite A. Erme, DO, MPH

Marguerite (Margo) Erme is an assistant professor at Northeast Ohio Medical University, NEOMED. 

Click here to read more.

Darcy Folzenlogen, MD, MPH

Dr. Darcy Folzenlogen is a retired emeritus professor of child health, internal medicine and pathology at University of Missouri School of Medicine. 

Click here to read more.

William Franks, MPH

William Franks works in the Kent State College of Public Health Office of Public Health Practice and Partnership to develop job experiences and recruitment placements for students and graduates.

Click here to read more.

Iris Harvey

Iris Harvey is the president and CEO of Planned Parenthood of Greater Ohio (PPGOH). 

Click here to read more.

Suzanne Hobson

Suzanne “Sue” Hobson directs Community Health and Partnerships for Cleveland Clinic’s South region which covers eight counties, including Summit, Medina, Portage and Tuscarawas.

Click here to read more.

Bobbi Krabill

Bobbi Krabill is the deputy director of the Office of Public Health Practice at the Ohio Department of Health. 

Click here to read more.

Frank Migliozzi, RS, MPH

Frank Migliozzi is the health commissioner for the Trumbull County Combined Health District. 

Click here to read more.

Steve Paciorek, PhD, MPH

Dr. Steven Paciorek has been an instructor in the College of Public Health at Kent State University since 2015. 

Click here to read more.

Chris Richardson, M.Ed, LPC, LIDC-CS

Chris Richardson is the Senior Chief Officer of Substance Use Treatment at Coleman Health Services in Kent, Ohio.

Click here to read more.