Three presidents - Scarborough, Tressel and Warren




The University of Akron seal



The University of Akron



Jim Tressel, President, Youngstown State UniversityJim Tressel became the ninth president of Youngstown State University on July 1, 2014. Previously, Tressel served as the vice president of Student Success at The University of Akron. He earned a bachelor's degree in Education from Baldwin Wallace University in 1975 and a master's degree in Education from The University of Akron in 1977. He also received honorary degrees from YSU in 2001 and BW in 2003.


Dr. Beverly Warren, President, Kent State UniversityDr. Beverly Warren became Kent State University's 12th president on July 1, 2014. Prior to coming to Kent State, Warren served as the provost and senior vice president at Virginia Commonwealth University. Warren earned a Bachelor of Science degree from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro and a Master of Science degree from Southern Illinois University. She holds an Ed.D. in administration of higher education from The University of Alabama and a Ph.D. in exercise physiology from Auburn University.