Endowed Positions

Kent State University's rising stature among the nation’s best public research universities depends on the success and achievements of our faculty. Perpetual support allows faculty to advance their work, assist in research, purchase equipment and push the boundaries of the unknown for generations to come.

An endowed position (often a professorship or chair) is permanently supplemented by the revenue generated from an endowed fund, created thanks to the generosity of donors. Endowed chairs and professorships also often provide the holder with additional funds for research, equipment or other support. Endowed positions are crucial for recruiting and retaining the highest-quality faculty, and donor support for endowed positions makes a lasting impact on the university and our students.

Our goal is to double the number of endowed chairs and professorships across our campuses. The following are currently endowed faculty and positions:

  • imageSara Bayramzadeh, Ph.D.
    The Elliot Professor in Health Care Design

    College of Architecture and Environmental Design

  • imageSteven A. Dennis, Ph.D.
    Firestone Endowed Chair in Corporate Finance

    Ambassador Crawford College of Business and Entrepreneurship

  • imageRichard Ferdig, Ph.D.
    Summit Professor of Learning Technologies

    College of Education, Health and Human Services

  • imageTimothy Rasinski, Ph.D.
    Rebecca Tolle and Burton W. Gorman Endowed Chair for Leadership in Education

    College of Education, Health and Human Services

  • imageRobert D. Hisrich, Ph.D.
    Bridgestone Endowed Chair in International Marketing

    Ambassador Crawford College of Business and Entrepreneurship

  • imageXiaoling Pu, Ph.D.
    Olga A. Mural Risk Management Professorship

    Ambassador Crawford College of Business and Entrepreneurship

  • imageJonathan Selinger, Ph.D.
    Ohio Eminent Scholar In Theoretical Liquid Crystal Physics

    Advanced Materials and Liquid Crystal Institute
    Division of Research and Sponsored Programs

  • imageVersie Johnson-Mallard, Ph.D., RN, APRN, FAANP, FAAN, Dean
    Dean, Professor and Henderson Memorial Endowed Chair

    College of Nursing

  • imageDavid Ward, Ph.D.
    J. Arthur and Margaret Hatton Herrick Endowed Chair in Plant Conservation Biology

    College of Arts and Sciences

To Be Filled:

  • The George R. Newkome Endowed Professorship in Materials Science
  • Dr. Kenneth Cummins Professorship Fund
  • The Chizu & Kota Yokoyama Endowed Assistant Professorship
  • Goodyear Endowed Professorship in Information Architecture and Knowledge Management
  • Consumer Rights Professoriate in Legal Studies
  • The Terry E. and Sarah S. Miller Endowed Professorship in Ethnomusicology
  • John S. Knight Chair in Scholastic Journalism