Meet the Dean and Staff

Meet Our Dean

Dr. Sonia AlemagnoDr. Sonia Alemagno assumed the leadership of the college on July 1, 2011.  Dr. Alemagno has a proven academic track record in administration, research, teaching, and service.

Alemagno joined Kent State in 2009 to assist in the development of the new College of Public Health. She has held the position of interim vice president for research since July 1, 2010. Before joining Kent State, she was the chair of the Department of Public Administration and Urban Studies and director of the Institute for Health and Social Policy at the University of Akron. Alemagno’s honors include a National Institutes on Health Career Development Award from the National Institute on Drug Abuse and the University of Akron Outstanding Researcher Award in 2005. In addition, she has been the principal investigator on research projects and Small Business Innovation Research funded by the National Institutes on Health, the Centers for Disease Control, the National Institute of Justice and the SAMSHA Center for Substance Abuse Treatment. Alemagno earned a master of arts in sociology from Kent State in 1984 and a doctor of philosophy degree in medical sociology from Case Western Reserve University in 1991. She resides in Russell, Ohio.

Administrative Staff of the Kent State College of Public Health

  • Assistant Dean, Operations and Community Relations - Ken Slenkovich, MA

  • Associate Dean, Professor Health Policy & Management - Ken Zakariasen, PhD, DDS, MS, MS(ODA)Academic

  • Associate Dean for Research, Professor, Social and Behavioral Sciences - Jeffrey Hallam

  • Assistant Dean Student and  Accreditation Services - Jennifer Noble Miller, M.Ed., MBA

  • Director, Academic Budget and Resource Management - Brent Christman

  • Senior Instructional Designer, Instructional Technology and Online Learning - Jamie Rhoads, M.Ed.

  • Special Assistant, Graduate Programs Assistant Coordinator - Karen Baker

  • Administrative Secretary - Grace Battaglia-Hoffman

  • Director of Instructional Technology and Online Learning - Sasikumar Benzigar, Ed.D, PBDCSA

  • IT Support, Ian Davison

  • Outreach Program Officer - Josh Filla, MPA

  • Clerical Specialist - Marilyn (Meri) Gonzalez De Reid

  • Academic Advisor - Tera Dent

  • Academic Advisor - Shaunte Rouse

  • Academic Advisor - Mary Scott – Toepfer, M.Ed

  • Special Assistant, Building Curator, Moulton Hall  - Kim Yodice