You are here

Welcome to the Air Force ROTC homepage!

The Air Force Reserve Officers’ Training Corps program at Kent State University is designed as an elective program for students interested in learning the disciplines stressed by the United States Air Force. The AFROTC prides itself on allowing students to try out the program their freshman and sophomore years without any obligation to join. Students that are up to the Air Force ROTC challenge will receive more specialized training while also finishing their degree.

Detachment 630 is not just one university, we are 8 schools all across Northeast Ohio. Based at Kent State University, where Leadership Lab and Aerospace Studies classes are held, we have cadets from the University of Akron, Baldwin Wallace University, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland State University, the University of Mount Union, Youngstown State University, and Hiram College. Eight schools provide an enormous number of majors, options for student life, and the opportunity to work with other students across Northeast Ohio.

College is the perfect time to decide if you want to serve your country with the AFROTC! Contact us today to learn more information about the Air Force ROTC program.

Commander's Welcome

Welcome to Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) Detachment 630, located at Kent State University. Since 1951 our mission has been to develop quality leaders for the United States Air Force.  All of our students receive world class leadership training in an academic and experiential learning environment.  Simply put, our program makes leaders.  You should consider ROTC if you want to become a better leader, challenge yourself physically and mentally, be around other talented and driven students, and be part of something bigger than yourself.  Joining ROTC does not commit you to serving in the AF.  You may leave at any time and for any reason in your first two years.  However, if you complete the program you will be commissioned as an officer in the United States Air Force.  From there the possibilities are endless.  The Air Force is full of amazing opportunities.  Our graduates have served in the Air Force as fighter pilots, astronauts, lawyers, doctors, space operators, program managers, scientists, engineers, intelligence officers, security forces, cyber operations, and so much more.

Our program is demanding because it is has to be.  We are preparing our cadets to lead Airmen in the world’s greatest Air, Space, and Cyberspace force…that’s a tough, but rewarding, job.  ROTC is centered on the Air Force’s Core Values of integrity, service before self, and excellence in all we do.  The result is we don’t just create great leaders, we inculcate them with superior character and discipline that last a lifetime.

As a cadet, you will be trained in military customs and courtesies, leadership, followership, critical thinking, communication, drill and ceremony, problem solving in a dynamic environment, management and so much more.  You will have the opportunity to take part in numerous activities designed to help you grow as a leader and a person.  Some of our cadets get the opportunity to participate in soaring and parachute training, operational Air Force base visits, and incentive flights.  All of them participate in philanthropy and service projects; activities on campus and in the community.

We thank you for your interest in Air Force ROTC and sincerely look forwards to meeting you and helping you to achieve your maximum potential.

James W. Mullinax, Jr., Lt. Colonel, USAF


This website is to provide information to Detachment 630 about upcoming events and vital information to the program.

We also provide information to civilians and alumni about what we do and our accomplishments within the program.

AFI33-332 directs that a Privacy Act Statement is provided when collecting personal information directly from an individual that is retrieved by name or personal identifier (i.e., SSN). When a visitor gives personal information, the Privacy Act gives them certain rights with respect to the government's maintenance and use of information collected about them. The following link has been provided to the Air Force's Privacy Act policy and system notices.

"The information herein is For Official Use Only (FOUO) information which must be protected under the Freedom of Information Act (5 U.S.C. § 522) and/or the Privacy Act of 1974 (5 U.S.C., §552a). Unauthorized disclosure or misuse of this PERSONAL INFORMATION may result in disciplinary action, criminal and/or civil penalties. Further distribution is prohibited without the approval of the author of this message unless the recipient has a need to know in the performance of official duties. If you have received this information in error, please notify the sender and delete all copies."
The following disclaimer is required per AFI33-129 when displaying commercial advertisements, sponsorships, or linking to nongovernment sites:

“The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Air Force or the
information, products, or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and morale, welfare and recreation sites, the U.S. Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links provided are consistent with the stated purpose of this DOD Web site.”

Privacy and Security Notice
Last Updated: 5 May 2016