You are here

School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Kyle Michael Miller, a 2009 graduate of Kent State University’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication, decided late last year to take a leap of faith and quit his dream job at the TODAY Show to follow his passion for sharing uplifting stories.

So Miller packed up and moved back to Ohio to find and tell stories from across the country that spread a positive message. He calls this venture 'Hope Dealer.'

Twelve students from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication (JMC) and the School of Visual Communication Design (VCD) will travel to Florence, Italy, for Kent State University’s inaugural Photography in Florence program this spring semester.

The way children are raised to consume news has a lasting and lingering effect.

Kent State University journalism major Jimmy Miller recently spent 10 weeks traveling the country examining the political views of white, working-class Americans, a group now credited as a difference maker in the successful campaign of President-elect Donald Trump.

The project was part of News21, a national Carnegie-Knight initiative. Each year, the program invites top student journalists from across the country to Arizona State University to report on and investigate a topic.

Please join the Kent State University College of Communication and Information as we celebrate our inaugural group of Sichuan Scholars at the “丰(豐)富 Fēngfù: A Time of Abundance” student photography exhibit opening and reception.


The Class: Uncover what “culture” means to contemporary young adults living in the United States compared to those living in Cuba.

The Kent State University Honors College will host its next Research Uncorked event on Wednesday, October 26 at 5:30 p.m. at Water Street Tavern in downtown Kent.

"When the View from My Office was a Castle" will feature Candace Perkins Bowen, an associate professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication within the College of Communication & Information.

The Kent State University College of Communication and Information (CCI) has named Stephanie Smith its director of global initiatives as part of its professional-in-residence program. Smith will continue to teach in both the Schools of Communication Studies and Journalism and Mass Communication as part of her college appointment.

What media platforms do you use to gain knowledge of the current political campaign? Do you believe that the media are often biased toward one political party over the other? School of Communication Studies professor, Paul Haridakis, Ph.D. and associate professor, Mei-Chen Lin, Ph.D. and School of Journalism and Mass Communication professor emeritus Gary Hanson explored these questions and found that the political groups people belong to and the media they attend to makes a difference in the perception of media bias.

Former NBC executive Paula Madison is 2016 McGruder Award recipient; Plain Dealer columnist Phillip Morris to Be Honored with Diversity Leadership Award

Kent State University’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication and the Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion will honor Paula Madison, former NBC journalist and executive, with the 2016 Robert G. McGruder Distinguished Award for her accomplishments in media diversity.