The Environmental Science and Design Research Initiative is pleased to host our final event from the ESDRI 2020 Symposium and our Year of Biodesign. We invite you to attend the Biodesign and Beyond remote panel session co-hosted by the College of Architecture and Environmental Design on Thursday, March 4th at 1:30 (PST)/ 4:30 (EST)/ 9:30 (GMT). 

Register for the event 

Explore biodesign concepts through presentations and discussions. Distinguished practitioners from diverse backgrounds, ranging from industry to academia, will address various topics related to biodesign, including bioart, biofabrication and biomimicry, and will feature the showcase of contemporary and innovative projects.

Panel moderated by Associate Professors Diane Davis Sikora (CAED) and Margarita Benitez (Fashion)

Opening Remarks by Mark Mistur, Dean of Kent State University’s College of Architecture and Environmental Design.

Panelists

View Panelist Biographies

Rachel Armstrong, of Newcastle University (U.K.) stands near a beach at night.

Rachel Armstrong

Professor of Experimental architecture at Newcastle University 

Maria Paz Gutierrez, Associate Professor in the College of Environmental Design at the University of California at Berkeley

Maria-Paz Gutierrez

Associate Professor of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley

Grace Chuang

Grace Chuang

Creative & Marketing, Ginkgo Bioworks Inc. 

Amy Youngs

Amy Youngs

Associate Professor of Art, The Ohio State University