Search Committee

The Presidential Search Committee welcomes feedback from all members of our university community and the public throughout the search process.

Submit your feedback

About the Search Committee

On Dec. 5, 2018, the Kent State University Board of Trustees authorized a comprehensive national search for Kent State’s 13th president. Both the Board and the committee are committed to pursuing a search that yields the very best outcome – an accomplished, visionary and inspirational president to lead Kent State to its brightest future and who will be the right leader at the right time. 
Below is the membership of a broad-based search committee to recruit Kent State’s next president. The Presidential Search Committee is advisory to the Board of Trustees and consists of faculty, trustees, students, administration, alumni and community representatives who will conduct the search not on behalf of any single constituency, but rather in the best overall interests of Kent State.

Meet the Committee

  • Dr. Ann Abraham, associate professor, chemistry, Ashtabula Campus
  • Virginia C. Addicott, vice chair, Presidential Search Committee; member, Kent State University Board of Trustees; president and CEO, FedEx Custom Critical
  • James Bailey, president, Kent State University National Alumni Board of Directors; senior vice president and managing director, PNC Bank
  • Rev. Dr. Todd C. Davidson, member, Kent State University Board of Trustees; senior pastor, Antioch Baptist Church, Cleveland
  • Dr. Douglas Delahanty, professor, psychological sciences; associate vice president for research, faculty development
  • Dr. Pamela Grimm, chair, Faculty Senate; associate professor, marketing and entrepreneurship
  • Nora C. Jacobs, chair, Kent State University Foundation Board of Directors; senior vice president, Hennes Communications
  • Dr. Mark Kretovics, associate professor, higher education administration and student personnel
  • Dr. Amy Reynolds, dean, College of Communication and Information
  • Shawn M. Riley, chair, Presidential Search Committee; vice chair, Kent State University Board of Trustees; president, McDonald Hopkins
  • Mark Rhodes, executive chair, Graduate Student Senate; Ph.D. candidate, geography
  • Dr. Nathan Ritchey, vice president, Kent State system integration
  • David Ruller, city manager, City of Kent
  • Gene Shelton, professor, journalism and mass communication
  • Bernett L. Williams, vice president for external affairs, Akron Children’s Hospital
  • Vala Zeinali, director of business and finance, Undergraduate Student Government; computer science major