Faculty Service-Learning Award | Community Engaged Learning | Kent State University

Faculty Service-Learning Award

Purpose: This award recognizes faculty members who committed their time and talents to creating high-impact service-learning experiences, such as experiential learning and service-oriented courses, community-based research opportunities, and other similar academic offerings.


Service-Learning – a class-based, credit-bearing educational experience which integrates academic material, relevant community-based engagement and/or service activities, and critical reflection based on a reciprocal partnership that engages students, faculty/staff, and community members in achievement, of academic and disciplinary learning objectives and civic outcomes to advance public purposes.

Community-Based Research – A collaborative approach to research that equitably involves all partners in the research process and recognizes unique strengths that each brings.  Community-based research begins with a research topic of importance to the community and has the aim of combining knowledge with action, and achieving social change.


Kent State faculty, either adjunct or full-time, in any academic discipline who taught a community-based service-learning or research course in Summer 2017, Fall 2017, or Spring 2018 are eligible.

Selection Criteria:

Faculty members nominated for this award should have demonstrated excellence in community-based learning methods and demonstrated best practices in:

  • Enhancing student academic and civic learning through community engagement;
  • Developing reciprocal and mutually beneficial community partnerships; and
  • Supporting students critical reflective activities that are supported by learning theory (i.e. Kolb’s Learning Model, Gibbs Reflective Cycle, etc.)

Selection will be based primarily on the responses submitted by the nominator.
To nominate a project for this award, please submit this form by March 22 
at 5 p.m.
Nominees will be notified of selection by April 8.

Nominate A Faculty Member