Food & Clothing Resources

 

Campus Kitchen (KSU affiliates) https://www.kent.edu/community/campus-kitchen Amanda Paulus 330-672-4020 Campus kitchen provides food assistance to KSU students, faculty, and staff.
Ohio Department of Jobs and Family Services https://odjfsbenefits.ohio.gov/selfservicesplash.jsf     Link to apply for benefits
Kent Social Services https://fcsserves.org/program/kent-social-services/   330-673-6963 KSS is dedicated to enhancing the nutrition of low-income people in the Kent area. Hot meals are offered at no cost five days a week and typically include 50-60 individuals per day. Opportunities to socialize, join a cooking class, and referral services are offered.
Portage County Clothing Center https://fcsserves.org/program/county-clothing-center/   330-296-0503 The Clothing Center's mission is to provide free gently used clothing and other personal and household items as available to families and individuals in need.
Salvation Army Center for Worship and Service https://easternusa.salvationarmy.org/northeast-ohio/portage-county/   330-296-7371 Operates two food distribution sites for Portage county residents, Food is government surplus. Must bring your own boxes or bags. Third Wednesday of the month from 11a-1pm, all Portage county residents eligible with photo ID.
Winfield Church of God in Christ http://www.winfieldcogic.org/   330-296-5880 Distributes surplus food the last Monday of the month from 11am to 12pm, open to everyone.
Catholic Charities Serving Portage and Stark Counties     330-297-7745 Provides food to individuals and families on an emergency basis. Hours by appointment Monday-Friday 8:30am-4:30pm. Service available once every 3 months to Portage county residents whose income is at or below 200% Federal Poverty Guidelines. Must bring proof of residency.
Brimfield Community Cupboard https://www.akroncantonfoodbank.org/location/brimfield-community-cupboard-inc   330-673-4524 Provides emergency food for individuals and families who live in Brimfield Township. Open Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:30-11:30am; drive thru. Can be used once per month (30 days between). Documents: Proof of address with current mailing address and documentation of low income (pay stub or w2).
Family and Community Services (Kent Social Services) https://fcsserves.org/   330-673-6963 Provides emergency food and personal hygiene products. Appointments available Monday-Friday 9a-3p. Eligible residents of Kent Roosevelt School District, Franklin Township, and Brady Lake Village
Riverwood Community Chapel https://riverwoodchapel.org/   330-678-7000 Emergency food available for individuals and families in Portage and Summit County (with Photo ID) Open Tuesdays 9-11 and 1-3.
Trinity Lutheran Church https://trinitylutherankent.org/   330-673-5445 Emergency food and gift cards (Giant Eagle for eggs, milk, and bread). Available to receive one bag of canned goods and dry goods. Serves residents of Kent and Franklin township- service may be accessed once per month.
Mighty Pack Program https://www.kent.edu/ehhs/news/mighty-pack-program   Terri Cardi or FSC at the CDC Provides supplemental food for children on the weekends. Contact Terri Cardy or the Family Services Coordinator at the CDC to sign up!
         
Haven of Rest Ministries https://havenofrest.org/need-help/   3302-535-1563 New and used clothing for men, women, and children. MTRF 10a-3p. Must provide social security number for each family member, birth certificates for children, photo ID of head of household, and marriage certificate if applicable.
Portage-Summit Diaper Bank https://greatnonprofits.org/org/portage-summit-diaper-bank     Multiple locations- free diapers to families in need.