Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Kent State University consists of 13 members who are appointed by the governor of the state of Ohio, with the advice and consent of the State Senate.

Trustees, with the exception of student and national trustees, are appointed to nine-year terms of office. The two student trustees are appointed to two-year terms as nonvoting members of the Board. The Board also has two national trustees, who serve three-year terms, as additional nonvoting members. The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Kent State, responsible for selecting and appointing the president; setting the operating budget; approving personnel appointments; granting all degrees awarded by the university, including honorary degrees; establishing tuition and fee rates; approving contracts; and approving university policies, new programs and degrees.

Meet the Board of Trustees