Department Chair

The Department Chair (hereinafter “Chair”) is the chief administrative officer of the Department and reports directly to and is accountable to the Dean of the College (hereinafter “Dean”) and his/her departmental faculty.  The Chair must be a tenure-track member of the Kent Campus Faculty. The Chair is responsible for recording, maintaining, and implementing the policies and procedures stated in this Handbook.  The Chair is expected to seek the advice and counsel of the Faculty and work in close cooperation with them.  To this end, regular meetings of the Department and of appropriate consultative bodies within the Department are essential.

The Chair is an ex officio, non-voting member of all Department committees (except those involved in the evaluation of the Chair), and may make appointments as necessary and permitted to Department committees and to the various administrative and service positions in the Department.

The selection, review, and reappointment of the Chair is the responsibility of the Dean, who must consult with the Department faculty on such matters. Details on Chair Search Procedures are provided in Appendix 2. The Chair review committee is selected from and by the Faculty. The Chair review committee seeks input from all members of the Department of Psychological Sciences and provides a summary of this input to the Dean.