Associate Professor of Peace and Conflict Studies, Landon Hancock receives Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award to the Republic of Korea for his project ‘Building Bridges for Peace’ at Kyung Hee University’s Graduate Institute of Peace Studies

The U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board are pleased to announce that Landon Hancock of Kent State University’s School of Peace and Conflict Studies has received a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program award to the Republic of Korea in Peace Studies. Dr. Hancock will lecture and collaborate at Kyung Hee’s award-winning Graduate Institute of Peace Studies as a part of his project, “Building Bridges for Peace”, designed to increase collaboration and build bridges between Kent State and other peace studies programs worldwide.

Dr. Hancock is one of over 800 U.S. citizens who will teach, conduct research, and/or provide expertise abroad for the 2018-2019 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement as well as record of service and demonstrated leadership in their respective fields. In accepting this award, Dr. Hancock noted that he was greatly honored by the opportunity to build bridges with other peacemakers and looked forward meeting his students and working with new colleagues at the Graduate Institute.

Hancock’s work focuses on the role of identity in conflict and conflict resolution as well as the importance of agency and ownership in local zones of peace or grassroots peacebuilding efforts. While at Kyung Hee, he will teach courses in identity conflicts and peacebuilding to the Graduate Institute’s students, give public lectures and otherwise contribute to the mission of the Institute and the Fulbright Program.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to build lasting connections between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program, which operates in over 160 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given more than 370,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in many fields, including 57 who have been awarded the Nobel Prize, 82 who have received Pulitzer Prizes, and 37 who have served as a head of state or government.

For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State, please visit or contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Press Office by telephone 202-632-6452 or e-mail

POSTED: Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 12:41pm
UPDATED: Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 1:22pm