Faculty & Departmental Advisors

Anthropology

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Archaeology (B.S.) Dr. Spurlock, 235-237 Lowry lspurloc@kent.edu 330-672-9329
Cultural Anthropology (B.A.) Dr. Feinberg, 233 Lowry rfeinber@kent.edu 330-672-2722
Biological Anthropology (B.S.) Dr. Meindl, 226-A Lowry rmeindl@kent.edu 330-672-4363

Applied Conflict Management

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Coy, 321-F Bowman pcoy@kent.edu 330-672-2875
Dr. Hancock, 321-D Bowman lhancoc2@kent.edu 330-672-0904

Biological Sciences

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Biological Sciences Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr.  Fraizer, 251 Cunningham
gfraizer@kent.edu 330-672-1398
  Academic Advisor
Joan Iacobacci, Cunningham
jiacobac@kent.edu 330-672-2984
Biology (B.A.) Dr. Rocha, 135 Cunningham orocha@kent.edu 330-672-2297
Biology (B.S.)
Organismal
Dr. Bade, 119 Cunningham (A-L) dbade@kent.edu 330-672-3992
  Dr. Mou, 209 Cunningham (M-Z) xmou@kent.edu 330-672-3625
Cellular/Molecular Dr. Casadesus, 18 Cunningham (A-G) gcasades@kent.edu 330-672-7894
  Dr. Marcinkiewicz, 218 Cunningham (H-O) jmarcink@kent.edu 330-672-5554
  Dr. Malcuit, 312K Williams (P-Z) cmalcuit@kent.edu 330-672-3428
Biotechnology (B.S.)
Dr. Kooijman, 312 Williams
330-672-8568
Botany (B.S.) Dr. Case, 245 Cunningham acase@kent.edu 330-672-3699
 Environmental & Conservation Biology Dr. de Szalay, 205 Cunningham fdeszala@kent.edu 330-672-7936
Medical Technology (B.S.) Dr. Chi-hua Groff, 43 Cunningham cchiu5@@kent.edu 330-672-2945
Pre-Dentistry Joan Iacobacci, 256 Cunningham jiacobac@kent.edu 330-672-2984
Pre-Medicine/Pre-Osteopathy Dr. Caldwell 121 Cunningham (A-Ch) hcaldwel@kent.edu 330-672-3636
  Dr. Chung, 53 Cunningham (Cl-F) wchung@kent.edu 330-672-3641
  Dr. Damron, 115A Cunningham (G-I) ddamron@kent.edu 330-672-3370
  Dr. McDonough, 130A Cunningham (J-L) jmcdonou@kent.edu 330-672-2388
  Dr. Johnson, 114 Cunningham (M-P) jjohns72@kent.edu 330-672-3849
  Dr. Novak, 223 Cunningham (Q-S) cnovak13@kent.edu 330-672-2306
  Dr. Welshhans, 27 Cunningham (T-Z) kwelshha@kent.edu 330-672-2957
Pre-Veterinary Medicine Dr. Adam Leff, 46 Cunningham (A-G) aleff@kent.edu 330-672-8369
Zoology (B.S.) Dr. Kershner, 49 Cunningham (A-G) mkershne@kent.edu 330-672-2738
  Dr. Koski, 315 Cunningham (H-O) gkoski@kent.edu 330-672-3670
  Dr. Chiu, 43 Cunningham (P-Z) cchiu5@kent.edu 330-672-2945
Minor in Biology Dr. Adam Leff, 46 Cunningham aleff@kent.edu 330-672-3015
Transfer Student and Regional Campus
Student Faculty Advisor Assignments 
Dr. Fraizer, 251 Cunningham
330-672-1398

BS/MD Program

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Lucy Omar, 20 B-Cunningham Hall lomar@kent.edu 330-672-3015

Chemistry/Biochemistry

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
BS Chemistry with Chemistry concentration
and BA Chemistry
Dr. Tubergen, 214 Williams mtuberge@kent.edu 330-672-2032
BS Chemistry with Biochemistry concentration Dr. Mao, 208 Williams hmao@kent.edu 330-672-2032
BS Chemistry with Biochemistry - Pre-medicine 
concentration
Dr. Gregory, 114 Science Research rgregory@kent.edu 330-672-2031
BS Chemistry with Materials concentration Dr. Sampson, 208 Williams psampson@kent.edu 330-672-2405
Pre-Medicine Dr. Gregory, 114 Science Research Bldg. rgregory@kent.edu 330-672-2031
Pre-Pharmacy
Dr. Abeysirigunawardena, 303 Williams 
330-672-2032
Transfer students, course substitutions,
course equivalencies, chemistry minor
Dr. Sampson, 208 Williams psampson@kent.edu 330-672-2405

Computer Science

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Samba (lead advisor), 272 Math and Computer Science dsamba@kent.edu 330-672-9980
Dr. Ruttan, 233 Math and Computer Science aruttan@kent.edu 330-672-9066
Dr. Volkert, 216 Math and Computer Science lvolkert@kent.edu 330-672-9037

Criminology/Justice Studies

See Sociology listing.

Economics

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Reynolds, 468 Business Adm. creynold9@kent.edu 330-672-1089

English

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
English Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Sturr, 204-D Satterfield (SFH)
rsturr@kent.edu 330-672-1727
  Assistant Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Winebrenner, 204-A Satterfield
kwinebre@kent.edu 330-672-1735
Teaching English as a Second Language Dr. Sturr, 204-D Satterfield (SFH) rsturr@kent.edu 330-672-1727
  Advisor for ESL Licensure and Endorsement
Dr. Rilling, 202-F Satterfield Hall
srilling@kent.edu 330-672-1725
  ESL Center Director
Dr. Judge, 201 Satterfield Hall
jjudge1@kent.edu 330-672-2676
Writing Program Dr. Neiderman, 206-B Satterfield Hall bneiderm@kent.edu 330-672-1745

Geography

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Mapes, 439 McGilvrey jmapes@kent.edu 330-672-2045

Geology

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Rowan, 337 McGilvrey crowan5@kent.edu 330-672-7428
Dr. Smith, 219 McGilvrey alisonjs@kent.edu 330-672-3709
Dr. Wells, 131-A McGIlvrey nwells@kent.edu 330-672-2951
Dr. Dasgupta, 221 McGilvrey tdasgupt@kent.edu 330-672-4104
Dr. Schweitzer, 345 McGilvrey cschweit@kent.edu 330-672-3303

History

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator,
Dr. Heiss
330-672-2882

Interdisciplinary Minors

Minor Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Ancient, Medieval &
Renaissance Studies
Dr. Fein, 113-G Satterfield
Dr. Thyret, 305 Bowman
330-672-1784
330-672-8912
Health Care Ethics Dr. Barnbaum, 320 Bowman dbarnbau@kent.edu 330-672-2315
Jewish Studies Prof. Kessler, 113 Bowman ckessle7@kent.edu 330-672-8962
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and
Transgendered Studies
Dr. Merryman, 325 Merrill
330-672-0315
Pre-law
Dr. Paar-Conroy, 113 Bowman
or
Dr. Tudor, 113 Bowman Hall
330-672-4148
330-672-8977
Religion Studies
Center for Integrative Programs, 
105 Bowman Hall
330-672-2062
Studies in Globalization, Identity, 
and Space
Center for Integrative Programs,
105 Bowman
330-672-2062
Urban Studies and Planning Dr. Mapes,439 McGilvrey jmapes@kent.edu 330-672-2045
Women's Studies Dr. Holt, 315 Merrill Hall slholt@kent.edu 330-672-8042

Integrated Life Sciences

See BS/MD Program.

Integrative Studies

See Bachelor of Integrative Studies page

International Relations

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Haley, 113 Bowman Hall mhaley@kent.edu 330-672-2062

Jewish Studies

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Prof. Kessler, 113 Bowman Hall ckessle7@kent.edu 330-672-8962

mAthematical Sciences

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator,
Dr. Lewis, 210 Math and Computer Science
mllewis@kent.edu 330-672-9033
Coursework, Advisor Assignment, Transfer Credit, Transient
Dr. Neuzil, 233C MSB
jneuzil@kent.edu 330-672-9054

Medical Technology

See Biological Sciences.

Modern & Classical Language Studies

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Newly declared MCLS majors seeking faculty advisor assignments;
transfer course evaluations; alternative credit
Undergraduate Coordinator,
Dr. Carduner, 305 Satterfield
330-672-1806
Special approval/overrides for non-language majors;
alternative credit; transfer course evaluations; foreign language
waivers for native speakers of another language
Valerie Reed, 109 Satterfield vreed5@kent.edu 330-672-1790

Pan-African Studies

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Barnes, Oscar Ritchie Hall abarnes@kent.edu 330-672-2300
Professor McVay, 108 Oscar Ritchie Hall cmcvay@kent.edu 330-672-0163

Paralegal Studies

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Paar Conroy, 113 Bowman Hall apaar@kent.edu 330-672-2650

Philosophy

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Zavota, 320 Bowman Hall gzavota@kent.edu 330-672-0266

Physics

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Physics Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Manley, 510-H Library
manley@kent.edu 330-672-2407
  Dr. Petratos, 314 Smith Hall gpetrato@kent.edu 330-672-5408
  Dr. Secaur, 311 Smith Hall jsecaur@kent.edu 330-672-2246
  Dr. Katramatou, 303 Smith Hall akatrama@kent.edu 330-672-0330
  Dr. Balci, 123 Science Research Bldg hbalci@kent.edu 330-672-2577
  Dr. Strickland, 510-X Library mstrick6@kent.edu 330-672-3771
  Dr. Katramatou, 303 Smith Hall (on leave spring 2016) akatrama@kent.edu 330-672-0330
Pre-Medicine/Pre-Osteopathy Dr. Mann, 322 Smith Hall emann@kent.edu 330-672-9750
SPS Advisor Dr. Sprunt, 104 Science Research Bldg ssprunt@kent.edu 330-672-2682
Transfer Credit; Transient Coursework Dr. Almasan, 002 Science Research Bldg. calmasan@kent.edu 330-672-2402

Political Science

All Political Science majors have an assigned faculty advisor in the department.  Please call the main office at (330) 672-2060 to be connected to this person.

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Political Science Undergraduate Coordinator,
Dr. Mazzei, 302 Bowman Hall
jmazzei@kent.edu 330-672-8934
Washington/National Issues (WPNI) Dr. Robyn, 302 Bowman Hall rrobyn@kent.edu 330-672-8944
Columbus/Inter-Gov. Issues
Dr. Sykes, 302 Bowman Hall
vsykes@kent.edu 330-672-8948

Psychology

Learn how to connect to a faculty advisor in the Department of Psychological Sciences HERE.

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Ben-Porath, 217 KTA
Research Areas: Clinical-Assessment
330-672-2684
Dr. Ciesla, 323 KTA
Research areas: Clinical-Adult Psychopathology;
Clinical-Child Psychology
330-672-1182
Dr. Coifman
Research areas: Clinical-Adult Psychopathology
330-672-9155
Dr. Delahanty, 317 KTA
Research areas: Health Psychology;
Behavioral Neuroscience
330-672-2395
Dr. Dunlosky, 319 KTA
Research areas: Cognitive Psychology
330-672-2207
Dr. Flessner, 325 KTA
Research areas: Clinical-Child Psychology
330-672-2236
Dr. Folk, 205 KTA
Research areas: Cognitive Psychology
330-672-4095
Dr. Fountain, 307 KTA
Research areas: Behavioral Neuroscience
330-672-3826
Dr. Fresco, 226 KTA
Research areas: Clinical-Adult Psychopathology
330-672-4049
Dr. Gere, 211 KTA
Research areas: Social Psychology
330-672-3947
Dr. Grau, 328 KTA
Research areas: Clinical-Child Psychology
330-672-3106
Dr. Gunstad, 378 C Kent Hall
Research areas: Clinical-Assessment; Clinical-Health
330-672-2589
Dr. Hughes, Undergraduate Coordinator, 326 KTA
Research areas: Clinical-Health
330-672-7721
Dr. Jasnow, 230 KTA
Research areas: Behavioral Neuroscience
330-672-2137
Dr. Kerns, 305 KTA
Research areas: Developmental Psychology
330-672-2311
Dr. Merriman, 201 KTA
Research areas: Developmental Psychology
330-672-2059
Dr. Neal-Barnett, 203 KTA
Research areas: Clinical-Child Psychology
330-672-2266
Dr. Rawson, 332 KTA
Research areas: Cognitive Psychology
330-672-3789
Dr. Riccio, 315 Kent Hall Addition
Research areas: Behavioral Neuroscience
330-672-2365
Dr. Sato, 219 KTA
Research areas: Clinical-Child Psychology; Clinical-Health
330-672-4888
Dr. Spitznagel, 329 KTA
Research areas: Clinical-Neuropsychology; 
Clinical-Assessment; Clinical-Health
330-672-2399
Dr. Taber, 309 KTA
Research areas: Experimental Psychology
330-672-3783
Dr. Thompson, 228 KTA 
Research areas: Cognitive Psychology; Developmental 
Psychology
330-672-3948
Dr. Updegraff, 321 KTA
Research areas: Social Psychology; Health Psychology
330-672-4731
Dr. van Dulmen, 223 KTA
Research areas: Social Psychology; Developmental 
Psychology
330-672-2504
Dr. Was, 313 KTA
Research areas: Cognitive Psychology
330-672-2294
Dr. Wildman 311 KTA
Research areas: Clinical-Child Psychology
330-672-2119
Dr. Zaragoza, Chair, 303 KTA
Research areas: Cognitive Psychology
330-672-2167

Sociology

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Criminology and Justice Studies Coordinator
Dr. Tontodonato, 311 Merrill Hall
ptontodo@kent.edu 330-672-0318
Criminology and Justice Studies Academic Advisor
Rebecca Cash, 315/319 Merrill Hall
330-672-9007
Sociology Coordinator
Dr. Stacey, 331 Merrill Hall
cstacey@kent.edu 330-672-2044