The School of Communication Studies hosted its annual Lambda Pi Eta Inductions and Undergraduate Student Scholarship Reception on April 20 in the Moulton Hall Ballroom.  At the reception, 56 undergraduate students were inducted into the Upsilon Chapter of Lambda Pi Eta and scholarships were awarded to several students.

Are you doing a CACM Internship over the summer?  

Is it connected in some way to social justice issues and/or to issues of economic democracy?

Ohio Scholastic Media Association Scholarship

Kent State University and its Center for Scholastic Journalism are the home of the Ohio Scholastic Media Association, the state’s only high school press association.  Each year, OSMA hosts conferences and conventions and runs competitions to support, train and recognize high school journalists around the state.  For more information on OSMA and to explore how your school can become a member, see the organization’s website:

Dr. and Mrs. Robert W. Squires Scholarships for 2014-2015 have been awarded to Nicole Datko and Jillian Goltl. The award recognizes outstanding academic scholarship and research efforts by students who are majoring in Biotechnology.  Congratulations!

We are thrilled to announce the winners of the 2014 Undergraduate and High School Poetry Scholarships! Michael Mlekoday, winner of the 2012 Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize, selected the undergraduate winners from a pool of truly remarkable finalists.


Undergraduate Winners

1st Place: Ryan Lind for “A Kandiyohi County Road" (see poem below)

2nd Place: Amber Dean for "I was taught"

3rd Place: Kinsey Brown for "Witchcraft"


An internationally recognized social geographer, a metadata expert and a leading researcher in the science of liquid crystals and nanomaterials received Kent State University’s 2014 Outstanding Research and Scholarship Awards at a ceremony and reception yesterday on the Kent Campus.

Six area college students were selected for scholarships in memory of longtime Akron Beacon Journal editor John S. Knight and public relations professional Ludel Sauvageot. A seventh student has received a scholarship from the Akron Press Club.

This year Kent State students from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication earned four of the seven coveted $3,000 scholarships.

The Knight scholarships are awarded by the John S. Knight Memorial Journalism Fund, and the Sauvageot scholarship and Press Club award are presented by the Akron Press Club.