David HasslerDavid Hassler is the author of two books of poems, including Red Kimono, Yellow Barn, for which he was awarded Ohio Poet of the Year 2006. He is the author of several nonfiction books as well, most recently the play, May 4th Voices: Kent State, 1970 based on the Kent State Shootings Oral History Project (The Kent State University Press, 2013). With photographer Gary Harwood, he is the author of Growing Season: The Life of a Migrant Community, which received the Ohioana Book Award, the Carter G. Woodson Honor Book Award, and was a finalist for the Great Lakes Book Award. He is coeditor of two anthologies by the University of Iowa Press, Learning by Heart: Contemporary American Poetry about School and After the Bell: Contemporary American Prose about School, as well as A Place to Grow: Voices and Images of Urban Gardeners. He received a BA from Cornell University and an MFA from Bowling Green State University. His poems have appeared in Prairie Schooner, The Sun, DoubleTake/Points of Entry, Indiana Review, and other journals. He speaks widely at state and national conferences on issues of poetry and education.


Nicole RobinsonNicole Robinson is a former director of high school education and language arts teacher. She teaches poetry workshops as a guest teaching artist in area schools, juvenile detention centers, hospitals and community centers to students of all ages. Her chapbook, The Slop of Giving In, The Melt of Letting Go, was published in 2008. She earned her B.A. from Kent State University and received her M.F.A. from Ashland University. Her poems have appeared in Literary Imagination, A Trunk of Delirium, r.kv.r.y quarterly journal and elsewhere.


Jessica JewellJessica Jewell graduated from Indiana University with a degree in English Literature and earned an MFA from Kent State University where she was the Wick Poetry Fellow. She is currently working on her PhD at Kent State, studying Higher Education Administration. Her poetry has appeared in Cider Press ReviewAmerican Poetry JournalNimrodHarpur PalateCopper NickelFjords ReviewRhinoBarn Owl Review and Poetry Midwest, among others. Her chapbook, Slap Leather, was published by dancing girl press.


Advisory Board

  • Pamela R. Anderson
  • Kenneth J. Bindas
  • Katherine Burke
  • Vera Camden
  • Alice Cone
  • Flo Cunningham
  • Paul Gaston, III
  • Gary Harwood
  • Sanford Marovitz
  • Babacar M'Baye
  • Katherine Orr
  • Scott Parsons
  • Maj Ragain
  • Valora Renicker
  • Kim Sebaly
  • Richard Steigmann-Gall
  • Joanna Trzeciak
  • Anderson Turner
  • Will Underwood
  • Christopher Wick
  • Catherine Wing