The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires overtime pay for hours worked over 40 during a workweek for all nonexempt (hourly) employees.

Administrative policy 3342-6-07.9 applies to university employees not covered by existing collective bargaining agreements and codifies the pay practices associated with working overtime.  Employees who are members of recognized units for collective bargaining purposes will be governed by the provisions of formal agreements between the recognized bargaining agent and the university (i.e., Article 20 of the AFSCME Collective Bargaining Agreement.