Physics Colloquium Fall 2016 | Physics | Kent State University

Physics Colloquium Fall 2016

All colloquia take place at 1:30 pm in Smith Hall 111, unless otherwise noted.

Fall 2016

September 1   No Colloquium: 1st week of classes
September 8 Thursday 1:30 pm

Measurement of charmed meson azimuthal anisotropy in Au+Au collisions at RHIC
Michael Lomnitz
Kent State University

Contact Person: Veronica Dexheimer

September 15 Thursday 1:30 pm

Skyrmions in Chiral Magnets
Prof. Mohit Randeira
The Ohio State University

Contact Person: Maxim Dzero

September 22 Thursday 1:30 pm

Asymmetric Nuclear Matter
Prof. Pawel Danielewicz
Michigan State University

Contact Person: Veronica Dexheimer

September 29 Thursday 4:15 pm

Why can't time run backwards? (Public Lecture in Cunningham Hall 101)
Sir Anthony Leggett (2003 Physics Nobel Laureate)
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Contact Person: Khandker Quader

October 6 Thursday 1:30 pm

The Oblique Chiral Nematic Phase: Structure and Order
Prof. Satyendra Kumar
University at Albany - SUNY

Contact Person: Veronica Dexheimer

October 13 Thursday 1:30 pm

A new, much more efficient approach to integrating large sets of coupled differential equations with applications in astrophysics, weather, and climate.
Prof. Mike Guidry
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Contact Person: Veronica Dexheimer

October 20 Thursday 1:30 pm

Active colloids in liquid crystals
Prof. Oleg Lavrentovich
Kent State University

Contact Person: Veronica Dexheimer

October 27 Thursday 1:30 pm

Fluctuations, stability, and phase transitions in quantum liquid crystal superfluids
Prof. Leo Radzihovsky
University of Colorado

Contact Person: Khandker Quader

November 3 Thursday 1:30 pm

Musings on the Search for the QCD Critical Point
Prof. Roy Lacey
Stony Brook University

Contact Person: Declan Keane

November 10: Thursday 1:30 pm

Can Fuel Cells Make Our World Cleaner?
Prof. Yanhai Du
Kent State University

Contact Person: Jim Gleeson

November 17 Thursday 1:30 pm

Reversibility of dynamics and multiple-quantum coherences
Prof. Anatoly Khitrin
Kent State University

Contact Person: Veronica Dexheimer

November 24:   No Colloquium: Thanksgiving
December 1 Thursday 1:30 pm

Finding Missing Resonances using Lattice QCD
Dr. Jacquelyn Noronha-Hostler
Houston University

Contact Person: Veronica Dexheimer

December 8 Thursday 1:30 pm

The Four Forces and Neutron Stars
Prof. Madappa Prakash
Ohio University

Contact Person: Veronica Dexheimer

December 15   No Colloquium: Finals week