Meeting Dates, Deadlines & Reviewers | Kent State University

Meeting Dates, Deadlines & Reviewers

Submission Deadlines

IRB applications requiring full board review should be submitted to the ORC by a discipline specific reviewer no later than 10 working days before an IRB meeting. We cannot guarantee review by a particular committee, regardless of the submission date. Assignment of new submissions to an IRB can depend on the nature of the research and the number of studies already assigned to that board. Should you have a request, contact the ORC at researchcompliance@kent.edu and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Review for level I/exempt and level II/expedited research is ongoing. There are no deadlines for initial reviews and investigators are not required to attend IRB meetings.

All meetings take place at 12:30 p.m. in the Schwartz Center, Conference Room 203. Please note that if you are a student conducting research for your dissertation or thesis, you must be accompanied by your faculty adviser (who serves as the PI on the research) when attending an IRB meeting. 

Meeting Dates

IRB 1 IRB 2

January 24, 2018

January 10, 2018

February 21, 2018

February 7, 2018

March 21, 2018

March 7, 2018

April 25, 2018

April 11, 2018

May 23, 2018

May 9, 2018

July 18, 2018

June 13, 2018

September 12, 2018

August 15, 2018

October 10, 2018

September 26, 2018

November 7, 2018

October 24, 2018

December 12, 2018

November 28, 2018

Reviewers

Reviewer Contact Discipline College
William Merriman wmerrima@kent.edu
330-672-2059
Psychology, Communications, Language, Memory, Cognitive Development Arts & Sciences
Richard Adams radams12@kent.edu
330-672-2562
Mental Health, Community Health, Trauma, Sociology Arts & Sciences
Mark James mjames22@kent.edu
330-672-6500
Biostatics, Epidemiology, Environmental Health Public Health
Joanne Caniglia jcanigl1@kent.edu
330-672-2850
Education, K-16, Special Education EHHS
Angela Ridgel aridgel@kent.edu
330-672-7495
Physiology, Psychology, Nursing EHHS
Wendy Lewandowski wlewando@kent.edu
330-672-3686
Nursing, Education, Psychology, Complementary Therapy Nursing
Betsy Page bpage@kent.edu
330-672-0696
Psychology, Human Development, Education, Exercise Physiology EHHS
Jill Kawalec jcarro18@kent.edu
216-916-7549
Podiatric Medicine CPM
Denice Sheehan dsheeha1@kent.edu
330-672-8845
Nursing Nursing
John McDaniel jmcdani5@kent.edu
330-672-0802
Physiology, Exercise, Health, EHHS
Joel Hughes jhughes1@kent.edu Psychology Arts & Sciences
Eric Jefferis ejefferi@kent.edu
330-672-6502
Public Health, Social and Behavioral Science, Criminal Justice Public Health
Eddy Patuwo epatuwo1@kent.edu
330-672-1163
Business Business
Sanna Harjusola-Webb shwebb@kent.edu
330-672-0585
Education, Special Education, 0-5 Years of Age,, Human Development, Behavioral Science EHHS
Mark Lyberger mlyberge@kent.edu Education EHHS
Janet Meyer jrmeyer@kent.edu
330-672-0176
Communication Studies Communication & Information

Other Members

Name Contact Discipline Department
Doug Delahanty ddelahan@kent.edu
330-672-2395
IRB 1 and 2 Chair Psychology/RASP
Paulette Washko pwashko@kent.edu
330-672-2704
Director, Research Compliance Office of Research Compliance
Kevin McCreary kmccrea1@kent.edu
330-672-8058
Assistant Director,
Research Compliance
Office of Research Compliance
Tom Bialke tbialke@kent.edu
330-672-4996
Manager, Research Safety Office of Research Safety
Susan Roxburgh sroxburg@kent.edu
330-672-3125
Prisoner Advocate Arts & Sciences
Angela DeJulius adejuliu@kent.edu
330-672-2443
Medicine, Primary Care and Prevention, Communicable Disease, Obesity, Physical Activity, health Behavior, Access to Healthcare/Policy University Health Services
Jennifer D'Abreau jdabreau@kent.edu
330-672-3711
Alternate University Health Services