Meeting Dates, Deadlines & Reviewers

Submission Deadlines

IRB applications requiring full board review should be submitted to the ORC by a discipline specific reviewer no later than 10 working days before an IRB meeting. We cannot guarantee review by a particular committee, regardless of the submission date. Assignment of new submissions to an IRB can depend on the nature of the research and the number of studies already assigned to that board. 

Review for level I/exempt and level II/expedited research is ongoing. There are no deadlines for initial reviews and investigators are not required to attend IRB meetings.

All meetings take place at 12:30 p.m. in the Schwartz Center, Conference Room 203. Please note that if you are a student conducting research for your dissertation or thesis, you must be accompanied by your faculty adviser (who serves as the PI on the research) when attending an IRB meeting. 

NEW - all projects that require HIPAA Compliance review will be reviewed during a HIPAA team meeting on the the third Thursday of the month. This is due to the significantly increased number of requests that require HIPAA Compliance review. PIs will be invited to the meeting.

Meeting Dates

IRB 1

July 8, 2020; Sept. 9, 2020; Oct. 7, 2020; Nov. 4, 2020; Dec. 12, 2020

IRB 2

August 26, 2020; Sept. 23, 2020; Oct. 21, 2020; Nov. 18, 2020

 

 

Reviewer Contact Discipline College
Christopher Flessner cflessne@kent.edu
330-672-3786
Psychology, Child and Adolescent Arts & Sciences
Gregory Gibson ggibson4@kent.edu
330-672-8344
Survey Research Method, Gender, Prosocial Behavior including Heroism Arts & Sciences
Joanne Caniglia jcanigl1@kent.edu
330-672-2850
Education, K-16, Special Education EHHS
Angela Ridgel aridgel@kent.edu
330-672-7495
Physiology, Psychology, Nursing EHHS
Wendy Umberger wlewando@kent.edu
330-672-3686
Nursing, Education, Psychology, Complementary Therapy Nursing
John (Steve) Rainey jrainey@kent.edu
330-672-0694
Lifespan Dev and Educ Sciences EHHS
Jill Kawalec jcarro18@kent.edu
216-916-7549
Podiatric Medicine CPM
Pamela Stephenson pstephe2@kent.edu
330-672-3704
Nursing Nursing
Deborah Barnbaum dbarnbau@kent.edu
330-672-2315
Philosophy, English, MCLS Arts & Sciences
Eddy Patuwo epatuwo1@kent.edu
330-672-1163
Business Business
Marty Jencius mjencius@kent.edu
330-672-2662
Lifespan Dev and Educ Sciences EHHS
Mark Lyberger mlyberge@kent.edu Education EHHS
Athena Salaba asalaba@kent.edu
330-672-0023
College of Communication and Information Communication & Information
Sheryl Chatfield schatfi1@kent.edu
330-672-3945
Social and Behavioral Science Public Health
Karin Coifman kcoifman@kent.edu
330-672-9155
Psychology Arts and Sciences
Clarissa Thompson

cthomp77@kent.edu

330-672-2166

Psychology Arts and Sciences
Kevin McCreary

kmccrea1@kent.edu

330-672-8058

College of Arts, College of Architecture and Environmental Design Research and Sponsored Programs

 

 

Other Members

Name Contact Discipline Department
John McDaniel jmcdani5@kent.edu
330-672-0802
Physiology, Exercise, Health, Chair
EHHS
Kevin McCreary kmccrea1@kent.edu
330-672-8058
Director,
Research Compliance (Alternate Chair)
Office of Research Compliance
Peggy Kramer pkramer@kent.edu
330-672-0709
Nonscientist Research and Sponsored Programs
Douglas Kubinski dkubinsk@kent.edu
330-672-2982
Alternate for Nonscientist General Counsel
Doug Delahanty ddelahan@kent.edu
330-672-2395
Psychology (Alternate scientist and Alternate Chair) Psychology/RASP
Lisa Dannemiller ldannem1@kent.edu
330-672-2322
Interim Chief Univ Physician University Health Systems
Kristy Pytash

kpytash@kent.edu

330-672-0641

Alternate Scientist, Education EHHS