Higher Learning Commission Accreditation and Accountability Committee (HLCAAC) | Accreditation, Assessment and Learning | Kent State University

Higher Learning Commission Accreditation and Accountability Committee (HLCAAC)

In Fall 2016, the Systems Portfolio Committee was renamed the Higher Learning Commission Accreditation and Accountability Committee (HLCAAC), in order to reflect Kent State's transition to the Open Pathway of accreditation. This committee continues to address quality improvement and regional accreditation.

Committee Members 2016-17

Jennifer Abate (Office of the Provost) 
Kelvin Berry (Government and Community Relations) 
Anne Brown (Finance and Administration) 
Gina Campana (Diversity, Equity and Inclusion)  
Cesquinn Curtis (Student Affairs) 
Nichole Decaprio (General Counsel) 
Julie Gabella (Graduate Studies) 
David Garcia (Enrollment Management) 
Elizabeth Henry (University Communications and Marketing) 
Michael Kavulic (President's Office) 
Janet Kittell (Intercollegiate Athletics) 
Stephanie Komon (Prospect Management and Research)   
Cathy Mahrle (Educational Technologies and Service Management) 
Jennifer McDonough (Academic Operations and Administration) 
Geraldine Hayes-Nelson (Human Resources) 
Zach Nyangau (Accreditation, Assessment and Learning) 
Susan Perry (Accreditation, Assessment and Learning) - chair 
Joe Richardson (Human Resources) 
Valerie Samuel (Institutional Research) 
Hollie Simpson (Accreditation, Assessment and Learning) 
Kathy Spicer (Accreditation, Assessment and Learning)   
Paulette Washko (Research and Sponsored Programs)   
Carla Wyckoff (Finance and Administration)

See below for historical information regarding the Systems Portfolio:

Every four years, each institution enrolled in the Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP) undergoes a Systems Appraisal to review compliance with standards of accreditation. The Systems Appraisal is an opportunity to get expert, objective, and third party feedback from the university's regional accreditor (the Higher Learning Commission) on the university’s strengths and opportunities for improvement. Throughout the fifteen years that Kent State was enrolled in AQIP (2000 - 2015), three cycles of the Systems Appraisal process occurred. Kent State University’s first Systems Appraisal took place during the 2005 academic year. Documents pertaining to the 2009 and 2013 Systems Appraisal processes are below.  Additional details regarding this process may be found here.

            AQIP Systems Portfolio - Fall 2013

            Systems Appraisal Feedback Report - 2014

            AQIP Systems Portfolio - Fall 2009

           Systems Appraisal Feedback Report - 2010