Learn more about Kent State’s Pharmacology Program faculty today.  All of our faculty members have extensive educational backgrounds that make them exceptional sources of industry information and insights. Feel free to contact any of the Pharmacology Program faculty listed below by clicking on the link to their email address.

Once you’ve read about the Pharmacology Program faculty members, be sure to learn more about the Pharmacology Program itself. If you have any questions or would like additional information, please contact the School of Biomedical Sciences.

Name Email Phone Specialty
** indicates accepting new students      
Jianxin Bao jbao@neomed.edu NEOMED Aging, Auditory Neuroscience, Gene Therapy, Stem Cell Therapy, Presbycusis, Noise-Induced Hearing Loss, Tinnitus. More on Bao
Soumitra Basu sbasu@kent.edu Kent Molecular basis of RNA structure and function, drug design. More on Basu
John Y.L. Chiang jchiang@neomed.edu NEOMED Molecular cloning, expression and regulation of cytochrome P-450 genes; regulation of bile acid synthesis and cholesterol metabolism in the human liver. More on Chiang
William Chilian wchilian@neomed.edu NEOMED Angiogenesis, arteriogenesis, regulation of coronary blood flow, heart failure, stem cells, regenerative medicine. More on Chilian
**Lique Coolen jcoolen@kent.edu Kent Mechanisms by which spinal cord injury affects urogenital and sexual function, neurobiology of addiction and understanding neural circuits that mediate female reproductive function and dysfunction. More on Coolen
Christine Crish ccrish@neomed.edu NEOMED Glaucoma, neurodegeneration, and bone loss in Alzheimer's disease.
Mark Dalman mdalman@kent.edu Kent  
Altaf Darvesh adarvesh@neomed.edu NEOMED Development of antioxidant and anti-inflammatory strategies for neoplastic an neurodegenerative diseases, as well as psychiatric disorders.  More on Darvesh
**Dimitrios Davalos davalod@ccf.org CCF The Dimitrios Davalos lab studies the interactions between blood vessels, neurons and microglia in health and disease.
**Feng Dong fdong@neomed.edu NEOMED More on Dong
Sheila Fleming sfleming1@neomed.edu NEOMED More on Fleming
T. Lee Gilman tgilman@kent.edu Kent Influences of diet, stress and genetic variation on emotions, behavior, and overall brain & body health.  More on Gilman.
Tariq Haqqi thaqqi@neomed.edu NEOMED More on Haqqi
Takhar Kasumov tkasumov@neomed.edu NEOMED More on Kasumov
Yoon-Kwang Lee ylee3@neomed.edu NEOMED Structure and regulation of nuclear hormone receptors. More on Lee
**Yong Lu ylu@neomed.edu NEOMED Neurotransmitter systems, GABA, glutamate, audition. More on Lu
**Jeffrey Mellott jmellott@neomed.edu NEOMED Age-related changes to inhibitory circuitry in the auditory pathways. More on Mellott
Devin Mueller dmuell10@kent.edu Kent Neural mechanisms of learning and memory that underlie drug use and emotional regulation. More on Mueller
Vahagn Ohanyan vohanyan@neomed.edu NEOMED  
Moses Oyewumi moyewumi@neomed.edu NEOMED  
Priya Raman praman@neomed.edu NEOMED Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying cardiovascular complications associated with diabetes and obesity; atherosclerosis; leptin; Thrombospondin-1. More on Raman
**Erin Reed-Geaghan ereedgeaghan@neomed.edu NEOMED

My lab is interested in the role of the immune system in Alzheimer’s disease (AD). Specifically, we seek to understand the ways in which the brain’s resident immune cells, microglia, contribute to the neuroinflammatory processes driving neurodegeneration. We believe microglia from men and women respond differently in AD, contributing to the sex differences in disease onset and progression, and we’re working on identifying the reasons for these differences. We are also interested in how these cells communicate with the circulating peripheral immune system, and the ways in which these interactions affect disease progression.

Prabodh Sadana psadana@neomed.edu NEOMED Hormonal regulation of lipid metabolism. More on Sadana
**Xinwen Wang xwang2@neomed.edu NEOMED

One size does not fit all. For many patients, standard drug treatment might not work or even trigger life-threatening adverse reactions. There is an urgent clinical need to provide tailored therapy for patients. Our laboratory focuses on applying pharmaco-omics tools (i.e. pharmacogenomics, proteomics and metabolomics) to identify both genetic and non-genetic factors contributing to the interindividual variability related to disease risks and drug therapies. Our research is expected to improve the efficacy and safety of drugs by identifying biomarkers that can predict individual drug responses, revealing novel drug targets and translating these findings into clinical precision pharmacotherapy.

**Bradley Winters bwinters@neomed.edu NEOMED Cellular neurophysiology of brainstem sound localization circuits that process timing and intensity differences between the two ears. More on Winters
**Liya Yin lyin@neomed.edu NEOMED More on Yin
**Yanqiao Zhang yzhang@neomed.edu NEOMED Regulation of lipid and glucose metabolism under normal and disease conditions.  More on Zhang
Yaorong Zheng yzheng7@kent.edu Kent More on Zheng