Name Email Campus Specialty
** indicates accepting new students      
Yeong-Renn Chen ychen1@neomed.edu NEOMED Oxygen free radicals, Nitric oxide, oxidative postranslational modifications, mitochondrial biology in myocardial infarction. More on Chen
William Chilian wchilian@neomed.edu NEOMED Angiogenesis, arteriogenesis, regulation of coronary blood flow, heart failure, stem cells, regenerative medicine. More on Chilian
**Lique Coolen jcoolen@kent.edu Kent Mechanisms by which spinal cord injury affects urogenital and sexual function, neurobiology of addiction and understanding neural circuits that mediate female reproductive function and dysfunction. More on Coolen
Mark Dalman mdalman@kent.edu Kent  
**Dimitrios Davalos davalod@ccf.org CCF The Dimitrios Davalos lab studies the interactions between blood vessels, neurons and microglia in health and disease.
**Feng Dong fdong@neomed.edu NEOMED More on Dong
**Jessica Ferrell jfrancl@neomed.edu NEOMED My long-term research interests lie in examining the pathological disruptions to bile acid physiology that contribute to alcoholic- and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. Our lab utilizes knockout mouse models, dietary studies, and cell and molecular biology techniques to investigate how alcohol, high fat diets, circadian disruption, or an altered gut microbiome can lead to liver injury and/or metabolic syndrome. We are also interested in studying the interactions between liver/gut metabolism and Alzheimer’s disease, as Type 2 diabetes, cholesterol homeostasis, and gut dysbiosis are thought to be involved in disease progression, while bile acids and their receptors may be novel therapeutic targets.
Ernest J. Freeman efreema2@kent.edu Kent Neurodegeneration, vascular smooth muscle cell function, biochemistry of multiple sclerosis. 
Rebecca German rgerman@neomed.edu NEOMED More on German
T. Lee Gilman tgilman@kent.edu Kent Influences of diet, stress and genetic variation on emotions, behavior, and overall brain & body health.  More on Gilman.
Ellen L. Glickman eglickma@kent.edu Kent Metabolic and thermal responses to acute cold exposure. More on Glickman
Gary Koski gkoski@kent.edu Kent Immune system and cancer, vaccines, molecular mechanisms. More on Koski
Manabu Kurokawa mkurokaw@kent.edu Kent More on Kurokawa
**Laura Leff lleff@kent.edu Kent Molecular ecology of bacteria, bacterial enumeration and identification. More on Leff
**Michael Lehman mlehma18@kent.edu Kent Reproductive neuroendocrine system of the brain in mammals as governed by intricate neural and hormonal communication between the brain, pituitary gland and gonads. More on Lehman
Eric M. Mintz emintz@kent.edu Kent Behavioral neurobiology, circadian rhythms, feeding, and social behavior, sex differences in biological rhythms. More on Mintz
**Aleisha Moore amoor149@kent.edu Kent The Moore lab aims to define and understand neuronal networks regulating gonadotrophin-releasing hormone (GnRH) neurons, the final output cells in the brain controlling fertility. Currently, we are funded by the National Institutes of Health to investigate whether changes in the regulation of GnRH neurons by cells co-expressing the neuropeptides Kisspeptin, Neurokinin B and Dynorphin (aka KNDy neurons) leads to infertility in polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), the most common endocrinopathy in women worldwide. To achieve this, we use a preclinical model of PCOS combined with genetic, anatomical, and functional tools to identify and analyze how changes within KNDy neurons and associated networks lead to the development of PCOS symptoms.
Devin Mueller dmuell10@kent.edu Kent Neural mechanisms of learning and memory that underlie drug use and emotional regulation. More on Mueller
**Colleen Novak cnovak13@kent.edu Kent Neural and endocrine mechanisms of activity thermogenesis in obesity. More on Novak
Vahagn Ohanyan vohanyan@neomed.edu NEOMED  
**Richard Piet rpiet@kent.edu Kent Neurophysiological mechanisms involved in regulating the activity of the gonadotropin releasing hormone (GnRH) neurons and their contributions to biological timing and fertility. More on Piet
Priya Raman praman@neomed.edu NEOMED Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying cardiovascular complications associated with diabetes and obesity; atherosclerosis; leptin; Thrombospondin-1. More on Raman
**Erin Reed-Geaghan ereedgeaghan@neomed.edu NEOMED My lab is interested in the role of the immune system in Alzheimer’s disease (AD). Specifically, we seek to understand the ways in which the brain’s resident immune cells, microglia, contribute to the neuroinflammatory processes driving neurodegeneration. We believe microglia from men and women respond differently in AD, contributing to the sex differences in disease onset and progression, and we’re working on identifying the reasons for these differences. We are also interested in how these cells communicate with the circulating peripheral immune system, and the ways in which these interactions affect disease progression.
Angela Ridgel aridgel@kent.edu Kent Motor functions, Parkinsons disease, rehabilitation. More on Ridgel
**Srinivasan Vijayaraghavan svijayar@kent.edu Kent Signal transduction, sperm physiology, fertilization, contraception. More on Vijayaraghavan
**Bradley Winters bwinters@neomed.edu NEOMED Cellular neurophysiology of brainstem sound localization circuits that process timing and intensity differences between the two ears. More on Winters
**Liya Yin lyin@neomed.edu NEOMED More on Yin