Physiology Faculty | Kent State University
Name Email Phone Specialty
James L. Blank jblank@kent.edu 330-672-2984 Ph.D., Indiana University. Neuroendocrine regulation of gonadal function and metabolism in male mammals, environmental regulation of seasonal breeding cycles; behavioral endocrinology. More on Blank
Ian Bratz ibratz@neomed.edu 330-325-6530 Ph.D., University of New Mexico. Functional roles of TRVP1 channels in coronary vascular tone and progession of diabetes. More on Bratz
Yeong-Renn Chen ychen1@neomed.edu 330-325-6537 Ph.D., Oklahoma State University. Oxygen free radicals, Nitric oxide, oxidative postranslational modifications, mitochondrial biology in myocardial infarction. More on Chen
William Chilian wchilian@neomed.edu 330-325-6426 Ph.D., University of Missouri. Angiogenesis, arteriogenesis, regulation of coronary blood flow, heart failure, stem cells, regenerative medicine. More on Chilian
Christine Crish ccrish@neomed.edu 330-325-6598 Ph.D., Vanderbilt University.  Glaucoma, neurodegeneration, and bone loss in Alzheimer’s disease.  More on Crish
Derek Damron ddamron@kent.edu 330-672-3370 Ph.D., Kent State University. Cardiac myocytes, signal transduction, protein kinases, contractility, anesthetic agents, calcium, cardiovascular disease. More on Damron
Feng Dong fdong@neomed.edu 330-325-6138 Ph.D., University of Wyoming.
Gail C. Fraizer gfraizer@kent.edu 330-672-1398 Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley. Tumor suppressor genes and cancer, mechanisms of tumorigenesis including growth control pathways, prostate cancer. More on Fraizer
Ernest J. Freeman efreema2@kent.edu 330-384-6391/330-996-2383 Ph.D., Kent State University. Neurodegeneration, vascular smooth muscle cell function, biochemistry of multiple sclerosis. More on Freeman
Rebecca German rgerman@neomed.edu 410-325-6299 Ph.D. Harvard University.  More on German
Ellen L. Glickman eglickma@kent.edu 330-672-2857 Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh. Metabolic and thermal responses to acute cold exposure.
John D. Johnson jjohns72@kent.edu 330-672-3899 Ph.D., University of Colorado. Neural-immune interactions, brain cytokines, mood, behavior, stress and immunity. More on Johnson
Douglas Kline dkline@kent.edu 330-672-3810 Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Gamete physiology, oocyte maturation, in vitro fertilization of mammalian eggs and the regulation of egg activation. More on Kline
Gary Koski gkoski@kent.edu 330-672-3614 Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University. Immune system and cancer, vaccines, molecular mechanisms. More on Koski
Manabu Kurokawa mkurokaw@kent.edu 330-672-3614 Ph.D., University of Massachusetts.
Richard L. Londraville londraville@uakron.edu 330-972-7151 Ph.D., Univ. Maine. Physiology and molecular biology of fish, temperature, vision, metabolism. More on Londraville
Jennifer L. Marcinkiewicz jmarcink@kent.edu 330-672-5554 Ph.D., Illinois University at Champaign-Urbana. Ovarian follicle development, autocrine & paracrine regulation of ovarian function. More on Marcinkiewicz
J. Gary Meszaros jgmeszar@neomed.edu 330-325-2565 Ph.D., University of Texas Health Sciences Center. G-protein signaling in cardiac fibroblasts  and myocytes, second messengers, cardiac fibrosis and failure. More on Meszaros. More on Meszaros
Eric M. Mintz emintz@kent.edu 330-672-3847 Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz. Behavioral neurobiology, circadian rhythms, feeding, and social behavior, sex differences in biological rhythms. More on Mintz
Colleen Novak cnovak13@kent.edu 330-672-3613 Ph.D., Michigan State University. Neural and endocrine mechanisms of activity thermogenesis in obesity. More on Novak
Priya Raman praman@neomed.edu 330-325-6425 Ph.D., University of Louisiana at Monroe. Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying cardiovascular complications associated with diabetes and obesity; atherosclerosis; leptin; Thrombospondin-1. More on Raman
Angela Ridgel aridgel@kent.edu 330-672-7495 Ph.D., Marshall University. Motor functions, Parkinsons disease, rehabilitation. More on Ridgel
Charles Thodeti cthodeti@neomed.edu 330-325-6423 Ph.D., S.V. University. Mechanical control of Tumor Angiogenesis and Cardiac Remodeling. More on Thodeti
S. Vijayaraghavan svijayar@kent.edu 330-672-9598 Ph.D., All India Institute of Medical Sciences. Signal transduction, sperm physiology, fertilization, contraception. More on Vijayaraghavan
Christopher J. Woolverton cwoolver@kent.edu 330-672-4648 Ph.D., West Virginia University. Bacterial cell wall polymers in inflammation, sepsis and its sequelae, antibiotic delivery devices, microbial identification and neutralization devices. More on Woolverton
Liya Yin lyin@neomed.edu 330-325-6521 Ph.D., M.D., Wuhan University.