Program Information

The ESL Center offers a unique, intensive language program with a variety of classes designed to complement each other as well as provide in-depth English language instruction. The intensive program consists of seven-week-long modules and allows students to develop those language skills needed in an academic environment as measured by standardized tests such as TOEFL.

All full-time students will enroll in five different courses during each seven-week module. All students in level 1-7 take the core courses (reading, writing, listening, grammar and speaking). Students in levels 8-10 may take a transition course in place of one of the core courses. Level 8-10 students also have the option of adding a standardized test preparation course (IELTS or TOEFL) to their class schedule.

Initial placement is based on test scores only. Students will automatically advance to the next level through passing grades; they may skip one or several levels through excellent test scores at the end of a 7- week module. All students participate in first-time placement tests as well as in achievement tests after each 7-week module.

All Core Skills courses are taught at 10 different proficiency levels. At each level, students will improve their proficiency through a host of communicative activities, including TOEFL-style forms of practice. The levels correspond to the following designations:

  • Level 1 Stretch: Beginner
  • Level 1: Beginner
  • Level 2: Beginner
  • Level 3: Pre Intermediate
  • Level 4: Pre Intermediate
  • Level 5: Intermediate
  • Level 6: Intermediate
  • Level 7: High Intermediate
  • Level 8: High Intermediate
  • Level 9: Advanced
  • Level 10: Advanced