Equal Access Committee

In 2023, the Equal Access Committee, formerly the Accessibility Committee, celebrates its 12th year of advocating for accessibility and inclusion for all students and staff.

Our Beginnings

We began with a charge by three university vice presidents to oversee ongoing initiatives to improve the campus culture for students, staff, faculty and visitors with disabilities. The vice presidents asked the committee to provide the moral conscience to the University community and be guided and committed to identifying and doing what is right in ways that consistently and inclusively advocate for the equal treatment of people with disabilities.

Pursuing Equal Access

Ten years later, we pursue the same goals – now under the umbrella of Equal Access, a campus-wide cooperative enfolding many cross-divisional efforts towards greater digital and physical accessibility.  Our monthly meetings involve discussing accessibility in the news, how our jobs and accessibility work intersect, and university progress on accessibility initiatives.

Visit the Equal Access Site

Meet the Equal Access Committee

Our members are passionate about accessibility and hail from a wide range of positions across our campuses. Some have work that revolves completely around accessibility; others’ work is focused on increasing the profile of accessibility in their areas. All have distinct reasons why they care about equal access for all users and all are growing in their knowledge of and advocacy for accessibility.

Please contact us at EqualAccess@kent.edu if you have any questions or would like to get involved.

Committee Co-Chairs

  • Amanda Feaster, Student Accessibility Services
  • Alison Haynes, Information Technology

Committee Members

  • Lakitia Avery, Office of Continuing and Distance Education
  • Katie Baer, Instructional Technology, Stark Campus
  • Donna Bernert, Health Sciences
  • Brandi Blankenship, Academic Services, Geauga Campus
  • Todd Burdette, University Facilities Management
  • Jona Burton, Information Technology
  • Gina Campana, Assessment & Planning
  • Kelly Cichy, Lifespan Development & Educational Sciences
  • Nichole DeCaprio, Office of General Counsel
  • Shandra DeVoe, Public Safety
  • Pamela Fitzgerald, Office of Compliance, Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action
  • Doug Flower, Information Technology
  • Stephanie Gaskins, University Libraries
  • Jay Graham, Office of the University Architect
  • Ben Hollis, Office of Continuing and Distance Education
  • Mary Hricko, Library, Geauga Campus
  • Tricia Knoles, Police Department
  • Mykal Leslie, Lifespan Development & Educational Sciences
  • Tony Licata, University Housing
  • Darcy McBride, Academic Services, Stark Campus
  • Eileen Mlachak, Student Accessibility Services
  • Bryan Molnar, Information Technology
  • Mandy Munro-Stasiuk, Provost's Office
  • Devin Noland, Undergraduate Student
  • Josh Rider, Center for Adult and Veteran Services
  • Kelly Senel, Philanthropy and Alumni Engagement
  • Ethan Smith, Information Technology
  • Tony Snyder, University Libraries
  • Caroline Toth, Graduate Student
  • Jessica Vass, University College