Undergraduate Advisors

All students are required to meet with their Professional Academic Advisor, Adam Smith in the Vacca Office of Student Services (418 White Hall) each semester.

The role of the Professional Academic Advisor is to:

  • Work with students on creating their academic plan and setting goals
  • Assist students in interpreting academic policies and procedures
  • Help students as they select courses and progress toward graduation
  • Teach students about the resources and technology available

In addition, students will meet with their academic advisor (see below) at least once yearly. 

The role of the Faculty Advisor is to do the following:

  • Offer expertise in the major subject matter
  • Provide mentoring in internship/career development

Transfer Students 

  • Meet with Adam Smith, the Professional Academic Advisor for SPA in the College of Education, Health and Human Services an EHHS advisor [304 White Hall, 330-672-2862].
  • Our Transfer Student Subject Area Expert (Dr. Huyck jhuyck@kent.edu) will schedule a group meeting with transfer students during the Fall semester. 
  • Next, meet with your faculty advisor, as assigned below based on your last name.

Post-baccalaureate students

  • Contact Dr. Sloane Burgess at sburges8@kent.edu for an initial meeting.
  • Meet with Adam Smith, the Professional Academic Advisor for SPA in the College of Education, Health and Human Services an EHHS advisor [304 White Hall, 330-672-2862].
  • Next, meet with your faculty advisor, as assigned below based on your last name.

Faculty Advisors (students starting after Fall 2019)

Freshmen-Senior Year

(a-B)

Dr. Audet
laudet@kent.edu

 

(C-D-E)

Dr. Roche
jroche3@kent.edu 

(F-g)

Dr. Grogan-Johnson  
sgrogan1@kent.edu

(h-i)       

Dr. Huyck                  
jhuyck@kent.edu

(j-k-l)       

Dr. Mussoi                 
bmussoi@kent.edu

(m-n-o)        

Dr. Arnold                  
harnold5@kent.edu

(p-q-r)

Dr. Krumm 

mkrumm@kent.edu

(s-t)

Dr. Burgess

sburges8@kent.edu

(u-z)

Dr. Barikroo

abarikro@kent.edu 

 

Subject Area Advisors 

In addition to meeting with individual students, the following subject matter experts will meet with students as a group, typically within a class. Faculty can also reach out to these individuals in case there are specific questions about working with students in each group.

Freshman: Dr Audet  laudet@kent.edu

Sophomore: Dr. Roche  jroche3@kent.edu 

Transfer: Dr. Huyck  jhuyck@kent.edu

Junior/Senior: Dr. Arnold  harnold5@kent.edu

Post-Baccalaureate: Dr. Burgess  sburges8@kent.edu