High School Counselor Advisory Board

Kent State University is proud to launch our newest initiative, the Northeast Ohio School Counselor Advisory Board, under KSU's Enrollment Management division. We value the connection between the university and school partners to give us insight of improving the college process for counselors, students and families.

Goals for the advisory board include:

  • Learning insights from counselor partners about items of importance for students and families
  • School counselors serving as a resource for Kent State in providing valuable feedback about new initiatives and strategies to support college access
  • Providing recommendations on recruitment activities and ways to best support students and families through the college journey
  • Learning what Kent State is doing to support student access and completion


High School School Counselor
Archbishop Hoban High School Heidi Maltempi
Aurora High School April Nenadal
Brecksville-Broadview Hts High School Gina Baeslach
Cleveland Heights High School Charlene Searcy
Cuyahoga Falls High School Vickie Davis
Glenoak High School Kristen Zurbuch
Green High School Kevin Granito
Harvey S. Firestone Senior High School Bianca Ford Heard
Harvey S. Firestone Senior High School Nichole Hornish
Highland High School Carolyn Colbow
Hoover High School Tamie Eynon
Hudson High School  Jill Van Dyke
Jackson High School Julie Prato
Kenston High School  Ray Kimpton
Medina County Career Center Patrick Shaughnessy
Medina Senior High School Shawn McDermitt
Medina Senior High School Dan Senften
Mentor High School Marc Nemunaitis
Nordonia High School Courtney Wenzel
Padua Franciscan High School Amanda Ortiz Byrnes
Padua Franciscan High School Melissa Smyth
Revere High School Nick DePompei
Riverside High School Scott Bailis
Stow Munroe Falls High School Ann Cottrill
Strongsville High School Tara Brzuski
Twinsburg High School Kristie Lewis

Board members have agreed to:

  • 18-month commitment (January 2022 – June 2023)
  • Participate in two to three annual meetings hosted on the Kent Campus

If you are interested in participating on future advisory boards, please contact Amber Wood, awood28@kent.edu or call 330-672-2403.


View agenda (PDF)

May 2022-TBD

October 2022-TBD