Spring 2015: 1970s


Darlene Clark Hine, MA, PhD ’75, Chicago, Ill., was named a 2013 National Humanities Medal Winner. Hine is a Board of Trustees Professor of African-American Studies and Professor of History at Northwestern University. Her scholarship in African-American history, especially on African-American women, has made her a leader in the humanities in the United States and around the world. 


Alumni Association MemberLafayette Tolliver, Toledo, Ohio, exhibited a selection of photographs at the Uumbaji Gallery in October 2014. Tolliver worked as a photographer for the Chestnut Burr and the Daily Kent Stater. The exhibit, titled Coming of Age at Kent 1967–71: A pictorial of black student life, included 24 images from his collection, which he donated to Special Collections and Archives at Kent State University in 2014.


Todd Raskin, Chagrin Falls, Ohio, is named for Civil Rights law in the 2015 edition of Best Lawyers in America. Raskin, an attorney with Mazanec, Raskin, Raskin & Ryder Co. LPA, has consistently appeared on the list and also was selected as 2013 “Lawyer of The Year” by Best Lawyers for Civil Rights law in Cleveland. 


Alumni Association MemberRuth (Potisuk) Ludwick, MSN ’81, PhD ’93, Kent, Ohio, was inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing in October 2014. Ludwick was recognized for her leadership related to standards for the nursing care of the aging population and the preparation of nurses here and internationally. 


Douglas Bailey, MBA, Panama City Beach, Fla., joined Digital Guardian by Verdasys, the leading provider of advanced security software for companies dealing with internal and external threats to their data. As chief strategy officer, Bailey is responsible for business strategy and go-to-market planning. 

Alumni Association MemberLarry Griffin, Wadsworth, Ohio, retired after a 35-year career with the Akron Area YMCA. He also joined Lighthouse Counsel as a senior consultant and will work with nonprofits to increase mission awareness and philanthropic support.


Roberta (Young) Brofman, Cleveland, Ohio, joined the Visiting Nurse Association of Ohio as the chief strategy officer, charged with the management and implementation of its strategic plan, as well as oversight of clinical and operational programs. 


Alumni Association MemberWayne Dawson, Cleveland, Ohio, co-anchor of Fox 8’s News in the Morning, was awarded the Chuck Heaton Award by the Press Club of Cleveland’s Cleveland Journalism Hall of Fame in November 2014.